June 2014 Deans Corner
 Charlie Wiseman

CVM alumnus wins highest university honor

Dr. Charlie Wiseman, a CVM graduate, was named a 2014 Distinguished Alumnus, the highest honor the university bestows on its former students.



BIMS student wins outstanding student award

At graduation ceremonies this year, 133 new veterinary medical students joined the profession, and 23 graduate and 186 undergraduate CVM students walked across the stage. One of these students won the Gates-Muller award, and two other outstanding students were finalists for the Brown-Rudder award.



FFA Veterinary Science Competition held at the CVM

The PEER Program hosted its 3rd annual FFA Veterinary Science State Competition on May 3, 2014. In attendance were 202 high school students from across the state who earned the privilege by qualifying at regional competitions. I am extremely grateful to the faculty and staff that graciously gave of their time to make this outreach event possible.



CVM has five new faculty senators

Five new faculty senators from the CVM—Louise Abbott (who is currently serving and was re-elected), Joe Arosh, Christine Budke, Tamy Frank-Cannon, and Charles Long—have been elected the 2014–2017 term of office, which begins in the fall. They will join currently serving senators Judy Ball, Karen Snowden, and Karen Russell, all of whom hold terms expiring in 2015. Thanks and congratulations to the new faculty senators, and thanks to Michelle Pine and Robin Dabareiner, whose terms expire at the end of the summer.



Aviary update

Construction on the new aviary continues to make good progress, despite the recent rain. The aviary is expected to be completed by the end of July, and an official grand opening ceremony will be held in the fall.


 Charlie Wiseman

CVM Picnic

The CVM held its annual picnic Friday, May 30.



First day of summer classes
June 2

Texas 4-H Roundup
June 9–13

Dr. Dan Posey has been named the 2014 Western Veterinary Conference Food Animal Continuing Educator of the Year. Congratulations to Dr. Posey, and thanks for all you do for the profession and for the CVM.

Congratulations to Dr. Robert Burghardt, the newly confirmed Associate Dean for Research and Graduate Studies at the CVM.

Congratulations to the Center for Educational Technologies (CET) team, directed by Dr. Jodi Korich, for winning a 2014 Blackboard Catalyst Award for Student Impact. The CET joins a select group of eLearning professionals, system administrators and institution staff from around the world whose participation has been recognized as a significant and exemplary contribution to the Blackboard Community.

We have 16 faculty members whose promotions and tenure were recently confirmed by Chancellor John Sharp and the Texas A&M University System Board of Regents, effective September 1, 2014. Congratulations to them all!

Curious About Case-Based Online Learning?

Discover a new way of learning with a sample case study from Veritas, a partnership between Texas A&M University, Cornell University, and Zoetis.


Veterinary Medicine Development
4461 TAMU
College Station, TX 77843

Support Texas A&M

Update Your Information With Texas A&M

Unsubscribe: click here