Skip Navigation

CVM Honors Faculty, Students at Annual Convocation

Posted April 27, 2017


The Texas A&M College of Veterinary Medicine & Biomedical Sciences (CVM) recognized its faculty and students with 68 awards and more than $41,200 in prizes, not including in-kind awards of journal subscriptions and conference fees, on Friday, April 21.

The CVM Honors and Awards Ceremony provides the college with an opportunity to reward and recognize excellence in teaching, research, and classroom performance.

Following a welcome by Bethany Weinheimer, president of the Texas A&M Student Chapter of the American Veterinary Medical Association, and a welcome by Dr. Eleanor Green, the Carl B. King Dean of Veterinary Medicine, awards were presented by executive associate dean Dr. Kenita Rogers and associate dean for professional programs Dr. Karen Cornell to students and professors in a packed VENI Building Lecture Hall 107A, as family, friends, and colleagues celebrated the achievements of those chosen for prizes, as well as the impact their work is making in the veterinary field.

“This is a day to recognize those who embody the excellence to which we all aspire,” Green said. “John Moorhouse, a famous cowboy and brother of photographer Bob Moorhouse, once said, 'How prosperous you are depends upon where the wheel fell off of your great grandfather’s wagon.' Today, your honors are not related to wheels falling off, or luck, or serendipity. Your honors are soundly based upon your hard work, your successful efforts, and your impact.”

The annual event is made possible through the donations of numerous donors who, in recognition of the efforts of the exceptional people who work and learn in the CVM, provide many of the awards and prizes given.

To see pictures from the convocation, click here.

The full list of winners includes:

  • American Academy of Veterinary Dermatology Award: Victoria Thiers
  • American Animal Hospital Association Award for Proficiency in Primary Care: Cameron Smart
  • American Association of Feline Practitioners Award: Erin Wilkens
  • American College of Veterinary Internal Medicine Large Animal Award: Marshall Guillory
  • American College of Veterinary Internal Medicine Small Animal Award: Taylor Gin & Cameron Smart
  • American College of Veterinary Ophthalmology Award: Brittany Schlesener
  • ACVP Award for Excellence in Veterinary Pathology: Juan Diaz
  • American College of Veterinary Radiology Award: Benjamin Colburn
  • American College of Veterinary Surgeons Large Animal Award: Josh Platt
  • American College of Veterinary Surgeons Small Animal Award: Mangala Krishnappa
  • Arden G. Kemler Award: Erin Richards
  • Award for Proficiency in Emergency & Critical Care: Cheri Honnas
  • Bridges Teaching & Service Awards: Claudia Barton, Stacy Eckman, & Virginia Fajt
  • Dechra Dermatology Achievement Award: Michael Walker
  • Elanco Dermatology Excellence Award: Chelsea Payne
  • Elanco Parasitology Excellence Award: Alec Wynne
  • Elanco Surgical Excellence Large Animal Award: Amy Jackson
  • Elanco Surgical Excellence Small Animal Award: Taylor Gin
  • Fred P. Jaggi Award: Erin Black
  • George T. Edds Awards: Alexandra Lacey & Kristal Rychlik
  • Gerald Bratton & Charles Hall Clinical Neurology Award: Lauren McAllister
  • Griffeth-Quick Cardiology Award: Amy Shelden
  • John H. Milliff Award for Teaching: Brian Porter
  • John Milliff Veterinary Student Award: Andres Rivera-Velez
  • John Paul Delaplane Award: Shakirat Adetunji
  • Juan Carlos Robles Emanuelli Teaching Awards: Beth Boudreau & Elizabeth Scallan
  • Kaytee Avian & Special Species Excellence Award: Michael McEntire
  • L.P. Jones Pathology Resident Award: Quinci Plumlee
  • Outstanding Graduate Student Mentor Award: Michael Criscitiello
  • Outstanding Masters Student Award: Amanda Blake
  • Outstanding Non-Thesis Masters Student Award: Daniel Hernandez
  • Outstanding PhD Student Award: Carolyn Hodo
  • Outstanding Postdoctoral Research Associate Award: Fabian Grimm
  • Outstanding Research Leader Award: Ivan Rusyn
  • Outstanding Scientific Achievement Awards: Sonya Gordon, Qinglei Li, Blanca Lupiani, & Sanjay Reddy
  • Outstanding Young Faculty Research Award: Beth Boudreau
  • Patton W. Burns Award: Hunter Pinney
  • Proficiency in Theriogenology Award: Rachael McPhail
  • Richard H. Davis Teaching Awards: Sarah Hamer & Michelle Pine
  • Simmons Educational Fund Business Aptitude Award: Ieva Jansky
  • Texas Veterinary Medical Association Research Award: Brian Saunders
  • Texas Veterinary Medical Association Teaching Award: Christine Budke
  • Texas Veterinary Medical Foundation Earl Waddell Large Animal Award: Karen Beste
  • Texas Veterinary Medical Foundation Earl Waddell Small Animal Award: Courtney Wilson
  • Texas Veterinary Medical Foundation Johnson Memorial Large Animal Award: Dustin Major
  • Texas Veterinary Medical Foundation Johnson Memorial Small Animal Award: Kayla Corriveau
  • TVMF Student Research Scholar Awards: Hannah Klein & Courtney Smith
  • Veterinary Cancer Society Award for Proficiency in Clinical Oncology: Christopher Dolan
  • VMTH Clinical Service Awards: Brad Bennett, Mary Nabity, & Catherine Ruoff
  • Veterinary Students One in Culture and Ethnicity Award: Karly Brightwell
  • Walter “Dub” Ruoff Memorial Award: Christopher Dolan
  • William F. Egan '43 Memorial Award: Taylor Adams
  • Winnie Carter Wildlife & Exotic Animal Award: Michael McEntire
  • Zoetis Award for Veterinary Research Excellence: Guan Zhu
  • Zoetis Distinguished Veterinary Teacher Award: Canaan Whitfield

↑ Back to Top
« Back to May 2017