Skip Navigation

Staff Recognized during Annual Awards Ceremony

Posted August 24, 2017



The 2017 CVM staff recognition awards recipients were honored for their contributions to their departments and the college as a whole.

The Texas A&M College of Veterinary Medicine & Biomedical Sciences (CVM) thanked its staff members on Aug. 18 for the work they do in serving on the front line through customer service, with the faculty, and behind the scenes in a plethora of ways to make the college what it is.

During the annual CVM Staff Awards, 12 employees representing a variety of areas and departments within the CVM were recognized for their outstanding job performances, their dedication, and going the extra step above and beyond what is expected.

“This fabulous building doesn’t make the programs—it certainly makes it better and we love and appreciate it—but people make the programs,” said Dr. Eleanor Green, the Carl B. King dean of Veterinary Medicine. “One of my greatest joys is working with people like you, and one of my greatest regrets is that I don’t get to work with each one of you individually every day.”

The CVM staff recognition awards recipients include:

  • Tina Karkoska, business assistant II for the Veterinary Pathobiology (VTPB) department
  • Tasha Miller, research assistant and laboratory management for Dr. Heather Robles-Wilson in the Small Animal Clinical Services (VSCS) Department
  • Belinda Hale, assistant dean for finance in the Dean’s Office
  • Amber Sexton, business coordinator II for the VSCS
  • Jing Wu, technical supervisor for the Clinical Microbiology & Immunology laboratory in the VTPB
  • Jill VanWhy, veterinary technician II for the cardiology service in VSCS
  • Candise McKay, veterinary pharmacy technician I in the Veterinary Medical Teaching Hospital (VMTH)
  • Norman Ellison, manager of VetMed Park
  • Josh Addison, senior software application developer in the Dean’s Office
  • Misty Skaggs, chief of staff in the Dean’s Office

Dr. Karen Cornell entertains the crowd as emcee of the awards ceremony.

Wade Friedeck, VMTH radiology lab supervisor, was honored with the W. Terry Stiles Service Award, which recognizes hospital staff who demonstrate outstanding service and support of the VMTH.

Tia Nieuwoudt, VMTH pharmacy director, was honored with the Pearl Enfield Staff Leadership Award, which is presented to a staff member who characterizes the standards of excellence exemplified by the award’s namesake, including leadership, mentorship, professional and development skills, ambition, excellent interpersonal skills, and an assumption of responsibility over and above position requirements.

“The whole purpose today is to recognize the people behind the scenes who are doing all the work; we recognize that none of the things that are successful in this college would be successful without the staff,” said Dr. Karen Cornell, event emcee and associate dean for professional programs. “These awards really acknowledge outstanding performance, accomplishment, and the idea that these recipients characterize commitment to the college—their longstanding commitment in many instances—their commitment to customer service, responsibility, and initiative.”

In addition, staff members were recognized for the duration of their service to the CVM. Longevity award recipients include:

  • Five Years: Julie Austin, Cynthia Balog-Alvarez, Amanda Bettis, Robin Callahan, Oma Chastka, Dianne Cornett, Alanna Cosgrove, Kristy Dean, Frances Ellison, Robynne Gomez, William Green, Michelle Hervey, David Kessler, Kara Moreno, Meredith Permenter, Abigail J. Rafferty, Gabriela Rivas, Cynthia K. Schocke, Angelia Taylor, Josh Treadway, Patricia Trusselle, Jill VanWhy, Stephanie Wertman, and Bruce Worley
  • 10 Years: Sylvia Aguero, Jimann Jones, David Louis Kindt Jr., Jean Marie Laird, Jennie Lamb, Heidi Murphy, Paula Plummer, Nancy Singletary, Sharkon Wright, and Efrain Zavala
  • 15 Years: Kathleen Darling, Sharon Dickerson, Scottie Flores, Wanda Hoelscher, Wallace Johnson, Dana McMahon, Harold Payne, Gay Perry, Victor Pineda, and Ashley Seabury
  • 20 Years: Amanda Friedeck, Sherri Hermes, Elizabeth Hinton, Linda McCallum, Donna Muzny, Jennifer Pivonka, and Kathie Smith
  • 25 Years: Linda Burton
  • 35 Years: Rosa Gonzalez
  • 40 Years: Noberto Espitia
  • 45 Years: Roberta Pugh

To see more photographs from the ceremony, visit the CVM Flickr page.

↑ Back to Top
« Back to September 2017