Home | Texas A&M Veterinary Medicine
Home | Schubot Center Tambopata Macaw Project Avian Genomics Project

Meet the Team

Dr. Ian Tizard, Director of the Schubot Exotic Bird Health Center

Dr. Ian Tizard

Professor and Director

Richard M. Schubot Professor of Exotic Bird Health
Professor of Immunology
Department of Veterinary Pathobiology
College of Veterinary Medicine
Texas A&M University

Phone: 979-845-4276
FAX: 979-845-9231
Email: itizard@cvm.tamu.edu

Dr. Heatley with Alex the Scarlet Macaw

Dr. J. Jill Heatley

Clinical Associate Professor

Zoological Medicine
Department of Small Animal Medicine

Phone: 979-845-2351
Email: jheatley@cvm.tamu.edu

Dr. Hoppes with Margo the Blue and Gold Macaw

Dr. Sharman Hoppes

Clinical Assistant Professor

Zoological Medicine
Department of Small Animal Medicine

Phone: 979-845-2351
Email: shoppes@cvm.tamu.edu

Dr. Susan Payne

Dr. Susan Payne

Associate Professor

Department of Veterinary Pathobiology

Phone: 979-458-4495
Email: spayne@cvm.tamu.edu

Dr. Brightsmith with a pair of Blue-headed Pionus

Dr. Donald Brightsmith

Assistant Professor of Ecosystem Health

Department of Veterinary Pathobiology
Wildlife and Fisheries Sciences

Phone: 979-458-0563
Email: dbrightsmith@cvm.tamu.edu

Dr. Christopher Seabury

Dr. Christopher Seabury

Assistant Professor

Phone: 979-845-2720
Email: Cseabury@cvm.tamu.edu

Dr. Janice Boyd

Dr. Janice Boyd

Adjunct Associate Professor

Phone: 979-458-0904
Email: jdboyd@cvm.tamu.edu

Debra Turner with Montana the Green-winged Macaw

Debra Turner

Senior Research Associate

Department of Veterinary Pathobiology

Phone: 979-862-2327
Email: ddturner@cvm.tamu.edu

Jianhua Guo

Jianhua Guo

Assistant Research Scientist

Phone: 979-845-5949
Email: JGuo@cvm.tamu.edu

Elizabeth Daut

Dr. Elizabeth Daut

Ph.D.

Department of Veterinary Pathobiology
Applied Biodiversity Sciences

Phone: 979-458-0904
Email: efdaut@cvm.tamu.edu

Texas A&M Faculty Engaged in Exotic Bird Research

  • Dr. Chris Bailey
  • Dr. John Bauer
  • Dr. Norman Dronen
  • Dr. Duane Kraemer
  • Dr. Terje Raudsepp
  • Dr. Karen Russell
  • Dr. Jan Suchodolski
  • Dr. Shuping Zhang