Kenita Rogers has been honored with the AAVMC's 2019 Iverson Bell Award.
Kenita Rogers has been honored with the AAVMC's 2019 Iverson Bell Award.


Dean's Corner banner
Dr. Rogers
Rogers Recognized with AAVMC's 2019 Iverson Bell Award
Executive associate dean Kenita Rogers has been honored for her outstanding leadership and contributions in promoting opportunities for under-represented miniorities in veterinary medical education.
Safe Elected to Inaugural Class of NAI Senior Members
Stephen Safe was one of six professors from Texas A&M, and 66, total, to be named a Senior Member of the National Academy of Inventors.
Parker Bestowed AAVMC's Leadership in Public Policy Award
The recognition, named in honor of Sen. John Melcher, is awarded for leadership that advances veterinary medical education and success in advocating that education on a national or international scale.
VMTH Surgeons Repair Polar Bear Humerus
Jeffrey Watkins and Kati Glass knew nothing about polar bears when they were asked to perform the surgery for the first time ever on Nora, a 3-year-old, 500-pound bear at Utah's Hogle Zoo.
Tissue Chip Paper Makes News on NIH Website
The project, led by postdoctoral toxicology trainee Courtney Sakolish, under the guidance of Ivan Rusyn, has been featured by the NIH's National Center for Advancing Translational Sciences.
Students Participate in Disaster Day Simulation
Student Veterinary Response Team officers wrote animal-specific scenarios to help their peers gain experience in caring for animals during emergency situations.
Educators Get Peek of CVM Through SPARK
The PEER program welcomed educators participating in the College of Engineering's STEM 4 Innovation conference, offering a glimpse into the Image Analysis Laboratory and lessons on cell communication.
CVM Today Explores Large Animal Medicine
The latest edition highlights ways the college is "Leading the Way" in large and food animal medicine.
Muneoka Team Proves Mammalian Joint Regeneration Possible
The study, published Feb. 5 in Nature Communications, explores how the growth factor BMP-9 effectively stimulated joint regeneration in a mouse digit.
VET Receives Legislative Recognition, Has Annual Operational Exercise
Rep. Lynn Stucky and other members of the Texas House of Representatives recognized the VET in honor of the team's 10th anniversary and contributions during Hurricane Harvey.
Veterinary Students Prepare To 'Open House'
The 26th annual Vet School Open House on March 30 will bring children of all ages from around the region to the CVM for educational, hands-on activities; tours; talent demonstrations; and more.
Vet Med-Themed Aggies Invent Offers Students Valuable Experiences
BIMS and engineering students joined others from across Texas A&M in working to solve veterinary medical care needs during the Feb. 15-17 Aggies Invent.
VMTH Clinicians Discuss Snake Season
In an article for Texas A&M Today, Jill Heatley and Christine Rutter offer tips to keep you and your pets safe from snakebites as temperatures begin to warm.
Roundtable Led By Parker Earns SCONA Recognition
Gerald Parker's topic at the MSC Student Conference on National Affairs highlighted "Health Security in the Age of Bioterrorism" and won the "Best Written Policy Paper Award" at the end of the event.
Registration Still Open For Third Annual VIS
Join the CVM and NAVC as we celebrate, explore, and enhance the veterinary impact on the world through innovation, April 5-7. Topics will include augmented and virtual reality, imaging, artificial intelligence, telemedicine, e-commerce, and more.
CVM Open House
March 30, 2019
CVM Honors & Awards Ceremony
April 5, 2019
CVM White Coat Ceremony
April 5, 2019
DVM Commencement
May 8, 2019

image 1 March 2019
Food Animal Conference
May 31-June 1, 2019
AAEP 360
July 11-13, 2019

Feline Forum
July 28-29, 2019
Canine Conference
August 23-25, 2019
Emergency & Critical Care Conference
October 18-19, 2019

image 2 March 2019
Congratulations to those from the CVM who were recognized on Feb. 23 at the 2019 Texas Veterinary Medical Association's Awards and Installation Banquet. They include: Sandra Nunn, who won the inaugural Veterinary Paraprofessional of the Year Award; Dr. Heather Wilson-Robles, who won the Veterinary Medical Specialist of the Year Award; Dr. Claudia Barton, who won a Distinguished Career Achievement Award; and Dr. Floron "Buddy" Faries Jr., who won a Distinguished Career Achievement Award (posthumous). Hats off also goes to Dr. Phil Hobson, whom the TVMA Board of Directors voted to confer a Distinguished Career Achievement Award.
Also, a hearty hats off to third-year veterinary student Anna Pratas, who was honored with the Jack Walther Leadership Award at the Western Veterinary Conference in Las Vegas on Feb. 19.
image 3 March 2019
Give online >>