Current Team

Principal Investigator

Sarah A. Hamer MS PhD DVM DACVPM (epi)

Sarah A. Hamer, MS, PhD, DVM, DACVPM (epi)


Associate Professor of Epidemiology
Veterinary Integrative Biosciences (VIBS) & Veterinary Pathobiology (VTPB)


Richard Schubot Endowed Chair & Director, Schubot Center for Avian Health
Associate Wildlife Biologist®

shamer@cvm.tamu.edu | 979.847.5693

Diplomate of the American College Veterinary Preventive Medicine, 2016
DVM, Michigan State Univ., 2011
PhD, Michigan State Univ., 2010, Fisheries & Wildlife; Ecology, Evol. Biology & Behavior
MS, Univ. of Illinois, 2003, Natural Resources & Environmental Sciences
BS, Univ. of Illinois, 2001, Natural Resources & Environmental Sciences

I am a veterinary ecologist specializing in wildlife and zoonotic disease ecology and epidemiology. My research originates at the intersection of ecology, epidemiology, and conservation, and encompasses diverse taxa (bacteria, ticks, mosquitoes, birds, mice, dogs, humans, and more). Given the emergence of pathogens shared by humans and animals, this is an important time to utilize multidisciplinary tools to improve human, animal, and ecosystem health.

Dr. Hamer's Directory Profile >>

Research Staff

Auckland

Lisa Auckland


Research Associate
lauckland@cvm.tamu.edu | 979-458-4924
Killets

Keswick Killets


Research Assistant
kkillets@cvm.tamu.edu | 979-458-4924
Balasubramanian

Sujata Balasubramanian, MS, PhD


Associate Research Scientist
sbalasubramanian@cvm.tamu.edu
Alex Pauvolid - DVM

Alex Pauvolid, DVM, MSc, PhD


Assistant Research Scientist
pauvolid@cvm.tamu.edu
Curtis-Robles

Rachel Curtis-Robles, PhD


Assistant Research Scientist (part-time)
rcurtis@cvm.tamu.edu

Postdoctoral Associates

Meyers

Alyssa Meyers, PhD


Postdoctoral Research Associate
ameyers@cvm.tamu.edu
Zecca

Italo Zecca, MPH, PhD


Postdoctoral Research Associate
ibzecca@cvm.tamu.edu

Graduate Students

Davila

Edward Davila, MPH


PhD Student (Biomedical Sciences: Infection, Immunity, & Epidemiology)
edwarddavila@tamu.edu
TAMU Diversity Fellow 2018–2022
Busselman

Rachel Busselman


PhD Student (Ecology & Evolutionary Biology)
r_busselman@tamu.edu
TAMU Merit Fellow 2018–2022
Anderson

Meredith Anderson DVM


PhD Student (Ecology & Evolutionary Biology)
ande1616@tamu.edu
TAMU Merit Fellow 2020–2024
Salomon

Jordan Salomon MS


PhD Student (Ecology & Evolutionary Biology)
jsalomon@cvm.tamu.edu
TAMU Diversity Fellow 2019-2023
Fimbres

Juan Pablo Fimbres Macias BSc Vet Med, MSc


PhD Student (Biomedical Sciences: Infection, Immunity, & Epidemiology)
jfimbres@cvm.tamu.edu
CVM Diversity Fellow 2019-2023
Rodriguez

Carlos Rodriguez


MS Veterinary Public Health- Epidemiology (thesis option)
crodriguez@tvmdl.tamu.edu
Killets

Keswick Killets


MS Veterinary Public Health- Epidemiology (thesis option)
kkillets@cvm.tamu.edu

Non-Thesis Graduate Students

Daniel Obregon

Daniel Obregon


MS Veterinary Public Health Epidemiology

Veterinary Student & Resident Researchers

Undergraduate Students

Torrez

Diego Torrez


Undergraduate researcher
Perez

Kaitlyn Perez


Undergraduate researcher
Durden

Cassandra Durden


Undergraduate researcher
Cole

Lauren Cole


Undergraduate researcher

Hamer Lab Alumni