I. Purpose

The purpose of this award is to honor early-career faculty members of the School of Veterinary Medicine & Biomedical Sciences (VMBS) who possess enthusiasm, and excellent teaching ability, and create a positive teaching environment.

II. Eligibility

All VMBS faculty members at the rank of Assistant Professor who have been involved in the teaching and education of veterinary students, undergraduate and graduate students, interns, and residents in VMBS are eligible. Recipients of the award shall be ineligible for reconsideration for the following 2 years.

III. Nomination and Selection

Any faculty member who meets the eligibility criteria may be nominated by a student, fellow faculty member, Department Head, or Assistant/Associate Dean. **Self-nominations will also be accepted**.

The nomination should not exceed 2 pages and it should include a summary of the nominee's teaching assignments, and a narrative explaining the evidence for enthusiasm for teaching, engagement of students, and positive impact on student learning.

Nominations should be sent to <u>VMBSFacAwards@tamu.edu</u> by <u>February 21, 2023.</u>

An ad hoc faculty committee will screen the nominations and recommend up to 3 nominees to the School's Executive Committee for final selection and approval.

If no nominations are received, or if none of the nominees are determined to be worthy of the award, no award will be presented.

IV. Award

One or two awards will be presented each year. The award will be presented at the annual VMBS Honors & Awards ceremony and it will consist of a certificate and a check for \$500.

2016 Philippa Gibbons & Johanna Heseltine

Previous Winners:

2010	Ashley Saunders & Ben Young	2017	Sarah Hamer & Michelle Pine
2011	Tamy Frank-Cannon & Katherine Scott	2018	Michelle Coleman & Shannon Washburn
2012	Gwen Levine & Michael Golding	2019	Johanna Heseltine & Lucien Vallone
2013	Carolyn Arnold & Laura Peycke	2020	Kristin Chaney & Erin Scott
2014	James Barr	2021	Dana Kneese & Kate McCool
2015	Alison Diesel & Sara Lawhon	2022	Evelyn MacKay & Annie Newell-Fugate