Texas Veterinary Medical Association (TVMA) Teaching Award

I. Purpose

The purpose of this award is to honor and recognize an outstanding faculty member of the School of Veterinary Medicine & Biomedical Sciences (VMBS) for their contributions to teaching veterinary professional students, interns, or residents.

II. Eligibility

All VMBS faculty members who have been involved in the teaching and education of veterinary students, interns, or residents in VMBS are eligible. Recipients of the award shall be ineligible for reconsideration.

III. Nomination and Selection

Any faculty member who meets the eligibility criteria may be nominated by a fellow faculty member, Department Head, or Assistant/Associate Dean. Self-nominations will not be accepted.

The nomination should not exceed 2 pages and it should include a summary of the nominee's teaching assignments, and a narrative explaining the evidence for their outstanding teaching contributions to the veterinary professional programs.

Nominations should be sent to VMBSFacAwards@tamu.edu by February 21, 2023.

An ad hoc faculty committee will screen the nominations and recommend up to 3 nominees to the School's Executive Committee for final selection and approval.

If no nominations are received, or if none of the nominees are determined to be worthy of the award, no award will be presented.

IV. Award

One award will be presented each year. The award will be presented at the annual VMBS Honors & Awards ceremony and it will consist of a certificate and a check for \$1,250.

Previous Winners:

2010

2019

2011	Glennon Mays
2012	John August
2013	Leslie Easterwood
2014	Roger Smith
2015	Stacy Eckman
2016	Jay Griffin
2017	Christine Budke
2018	Cleet Griffin

Peter Rakestraw

2020 Joanne Hardy2021 Beth Scallan

2022 Benjamin Newcomer

Adam Patterson