# **Zoetis Award for Veterinary Research Excellence**

# I. Purpose

The purpose of this award is to honor and recognize an exceptional faculty member of the School of Veterinary Medicine & Biomedical Sciences (VMBS) whose innovative studies have advanced the scientific standing of veterinary medicine.

## II. Eligibility

All VMBS faculty members who have been involved in research are eligible. Research that shows promise of attaining national recognition which has been completed at VMBS within the last 3 years will be considered. Recipients of the award shall be ineligible for reconsideration for 5 years.

#### **III.** Nomination and Selection

Any faculty member who meets the eligibility criteria may be nominated by a fellow faculty member, Department Head, or Assistant/Associate Dean. Self-nominations will not be accepted.

The nomination should include a cover letter and a CV summarizing the nominee's research achievements and explaining the impact of their research on advancing the scientific standing of veterinary medicine.

Nominations should be sent to <a href="https://www.edu.edu">VMBSFacAwards@tamu.edu</a> by <a href="mailto:February 21, 2023.">February 21, 2023.</a>

The Research Advisory Committee will screen the nominations and recommend up to 3 nominees to the School's Executive Committee for final selection and approval.

If no nominations are received, or if none of the nominees are determined to be worthy of the award, no award will be presented.

## IV. Award

One award will be presented each year. The award will be presented at the annual VMBS Honors & Awards ceremony and it will consist of a plaque and a check for \$1,000.

## **Previous Winners:**

2011 Joerg Steiner

2012 Joe Arosh

2013 Michael Golding

2014 Sanjay Reddy

Noah Cohen

2016 Jan Suchodolski

2017 Guan Zhu

2018 Jay Ramadoss

2019 H. Morgan Scott

2020 Stephen Safe

2021 Sarah Hamer

2022 Kate Creevy