Skip Navigation

Two CVM Faculty Presented AFS Distinguished Achievement Awards

Posted December 13, 2017

Two Texas A&M College of Veterinary Medicine & Biomedical Sciences (CVM) faculty members have been recognized by the Texas A&M Association of Former Students (AFS) with college-level Distinguished Achievement Awards in Teaching.


Dean Eleanor Green, interim VIBS department head Jane Welsh, and AFS vice president for marketing and programs Marty Holmes congratulate Louise Abbott.

Louise Abbott, a professor of Veterinary Integrative Biosciences (VIBS), and Stacy Eckman, a clinical assistant professor in the Department of Small Animal Clinical Sciences (VSCS), were presented the awards during the CVM Holiday Celebration on Dec. 12 at the Veterinary & Biomedical Education Complex (VBEC).

“Our faculty do such an amazing job of making Texas Aggies,” said Marty Holmes, AFS vice president for marketing and programs, who came to the holiday celebration to present the awards. “We’re so proud to have you as part of the Aggie network and what you do for Texas A&M.”

Abbott was noted by her DVM student nominator for her empathetic nature and ability to relate to and motivate students.

“Much of what makes a great teacher today in professional school is the same as it has always been for me since elementary school. It is a passion for a subject and an inherently caring attitude,” the student said. “On compassion alone, she is not just great; Dr. Abbott is outstanding. It is not at all hyperbole to say that I have never had a teacher who cares as deeply about her students as Dr. Abbott does.”

The student praised Abbott for going the extra mile in her anatomy classes, staying late and offering to help her students both outside of class and on the weekends, all of which contributes to the success of her students.

“With the demands and rigors of veterinary school, what Dr. Abbott does ensures that the odds of us fulfilling these demands are in our favor,” the student said.

“Her actions set an example to us about the importance of having a clear sense of responsibility about our work,” the student continued. “Anatomy is a difficult subject to master, and Dr. Abbott sets high standards, but she holds everyone accountable for their success, including herself. Because of all the ways she provides us help, I have never questioned if she could have done more for us to understand the material.”

Eckman was recognized as a stellar educator and role model whose work impacts the lives of the CVM’s professional students every day.


Dean Green, VSCS department chair Jonathan Levine, and Holmes congratulate Stacy Eckman.

“Dr. Eckman is an outstanding educator, who focuses on teaching veterinary students to be excellent day one practitioners,” said Jonathan Levine, VSCS professor, Helen McWhorter Chair, and department head, who nominated Eckman for the award. “Dr. Eckman is practical, ‘real world,’ kind, patient, and enthusiastic in her approach.

“More than that, she imbues in her students professional skills and core values that go beyond the biomedical realm such as communication, listening, compassion, leadership and integrity,” he said.

Eckman joined VSCS in 2009 as a lecturer in the area of primary care; in 2014, she became a clinical assistant professor and was appointed section chief of emergency critical care/primary care. She currently teaches “Clinical Correlates,” “Clinics I-Communication,” the “Small Animal Preventative Care and Wellness” elective and also coordinates the “Small Animal Skills” course.

She also has a 75 percent time assignment to patient care and clinical instruction, through the primary care and emergency rotations, which allows her the opportunity to help shape the CVM’s fourth-year veterinary students, as well as the hospital’s interns, residents, and early career faculty in primary care.

Eckman previously has been honored with two awards for her outstanding service from the Texas A&M Veterinary Medical Teaching Hospital (VMTH) and for her achievement as a clinician-educator with the Texas Veterinary Medical Association’s (TVMA) Faculty Achievement Award.

As winners of the AFS college-level teaching awards, Abbott and Eckman received $2,000 and a framed certificate.

↑ Back to Top
« Back to January 2018