Skip Navigation

Executive Committee

Executive committee members, 2014-15


Elena Gart

Elena Gart

Elena Gart, DMV, MS, received her veterinary degree from Novosibirskii Agricultural Institute in Novosibirsk, Russia in 2008 and then her master’s in veterinary biomedical sciences from Kansas State University in 2010. She is currently a doctorate student at VTPB under the mentorship of Dr. Sara Lawhon where her current research focuses on bacterial metabolism, quorum sensing and antimicrobial resistance.

Vice President

Sankar Chaki Profile Pic

Sankar Prasad Chaki, Ph.D

Dr. Chaki completed his PhD in Physiology at National Institute of Health & Family Welfare (NIHFW, New Delhi) and Vidyasagar University, India. His graduate research was focused on germ cell apoptosis in male rat testis. During his stay at NIHFW as Research Assistant/ Assistant Research Officer, Dr. Chaki worked on fertility management and developed three human sperm function test kits. Dr. Chaki joined Texas A&M University as a postdoctoral Research Associate to study Pig Y Chromosomal genome. After a year and quarter of genome research, Dr. Chaki joined Dr. Rivera’s lab to study cytoskeletal dynamics, as induced by tyrosine phosphorylation in response to extracellular signals, using a combination of molecular genetics and high resolution microscopy. Currently Dr. Chaki, as a postdoctoral fellow of American Heart Association, is engaged to study podosome biogenesis and vascular morphogenesis in cell culture (2D/3D) and nude mouse models.


Sarah Schneider Secretary

Sarah Schneider, DVM, DipACVP

Dr. Schneider received her veterinary degree from the University of Tennessee in 2007, and practiced small animal medicine in Beaufort, South Carolina for 3 years before taking a residency in Anatomic Pathology at Texas A&M in 2010.  She completed hr residency and gained board certification in anatomic pathology in September of 2013.  She is now pursuing a PhD in Veterinary Pathobiology under the mentorship of Dr. Joe Kornegay. Her studies involve the cardiomyopathy of the Golden Retriever model of muscular dystrophy.

Contact us:


Previous Executive Committee Members

President: Ben Stoughton, Sabrina Vobornik, Pam Ferro,

Vice President: Randi Gold, Cyrus Joseph,

Secretary: Julie Hilligas, Kendrick Sudderth