Skip Navigation

Schedule / Important Dates

VMSRTP Schedule: Summer, 2018

Schedule is subject to change; changes will be announced at weekly meetings & by email.


Mon, Sept 18, 2017

Informational Lunch: About the VMSRTP

Coordinators
Previous Students

VIDI 102

Fri, Oct 13, 2017

Informational Lunch: Mentor Selection

Coordinators
Previous Students

VIDI 103

mid-Nov, 2017

On-Line Applications Accepted

Fri, Feb 2, 2018

Application Deadline

 

 

mid-Feb

Announcement of 2018 Fellows

 

 

March 20, 2018

Kick-Off Dinner for 2018 VMSRTP
Scientific Method & Development of Grant Proposals

Coordinators
C Long

VIDI 113

Fri, May 11

Complete Research Proposals
Complete On-Line Training

 

 

Mon, May 14

Orientation to Biomedical Research
(8:30AM – 1:30PM)

Review of Grants & Funding
Statistics Refresher
Scientific Ethics & Scientific Fraud
Lunch
Mentor/Mentee Relationsships



Dr. Long
Dr. Hamer
Dr. R. Vemulapalli
Everyone
Dr. Gaddy

VIDI 102

Tue, May 15

Orientation to Biomedical Research
(9:00AM – 1:00PM)

Preparing a Professional Profile
Ethics of Animal Research
Data Acquisition/Management/Ownership
Lunch
Future Opportunities for Research



Dr. Moberly
Dr. T. Vemulapalli
Dr. Long
Everyone
Dr. Smith

VIDI 102

Wed, May 16

BSL-2 Training (9:30AM - 11:30AM)

Biosafety Office

GSC 3117

Thu, May 17

Veterinary Scientist Careers Dinner with Mentors (6:00PM)

Fellows & Mentors

Napa Flats
1727 Texas Ave S
College Station, TX

Fri, May 18

CVM Picnic (11:30AM - 1:00PM)

 

Courtyard

Thu, May 24

Posters & Presentations

Dr. Gaddy

VIDI 102

Mon, May 28

Memorial Day Holiday

Thu, May 31

Texas Heart Institute:
Comparative Cardiovascular Pathology
Regenerative Medicine
Center for Cell & Organ Biotechnology
Wafic Said Molecular Cardiology Res.
Laboratory Animal Care

K Sprung, P Potts
Dr. Clubb, Dr. Weeks
Dr. Sampaio

Dr. Woodside
Dr. Costas

Houston, TX

Thu, June 7

Keeling Center for Comparative Medicine & Research, MD Anderson Cancer Center

Dr. Abee, Dr. Baze, Dr. Brady, Dr. Buchl, Dr. Gray, et al.

Bastrop.TX

Thu, June 14

Writing Scientific Papers

Dr. Gaddy

VIDI 102

Thu, June 21

Presenting a Journal Club Paper

Dr. DeFiguieredo

VIDI 102

Thu, June 28

Journal Club Presentations

Scholars

VIDI 102

Wed, July 4

Independence Day Holiday

Thu, July 5

Journal Club Presentations

Scholars

VIDI 102

Thu, July 12

Journal Club Presentations

Scholars

VIDI 102

July 16

National Veterinary Scholars Symposium Abstracts Due (3:00PM CDT)

Thu, July 19

Journal Club Presentations

Scholars

VIDI 102

Thu, July 26

Elevator Talks

Scholars

VIDI 102

Fri, July 27

Posters Due

Scholars

Creative Technologies

Tue, July 31

VMSRTP Conference

Scholars

VENI 101C

Aug 2-4

National Veterinary Scholars Symposium at Texas A&M

Mon, Aug 13

Final Reports Due

Scholars