Skip Navigation

Schedule / Important Dates

VMSRTP Schedule: Summer, 2014

Schedule is subject to change; changes will be announced at weekly meetings & by email.
* MFR = Mark Francis Room; DCR = Dean's Conference Room

Mon, Sept 30

Informational Lunch: About the VMSRTP

Coordinators
Previous Students

MFR

Tue, Oct 15

Informational Lunch: Mentor Selection

Coordinators
Previous Students

MFR

mid-Nov

On-Line Applications Accepted

Fri, Feb 7

Application Deadline

 

 

late-Feb

Announcement of 2014 Fellows

 

 

Mon, Mar 17

Kick-Off Lunch for 2014 VMSRTP

Scientific Method & Development of Grant Proposals

Coordinators

C Long

VMS 210

Mon, May 12

Intro to the VMSRTP


Grant Proposals & Funding Research

Intro to Statistics for Biomedical Scientists

Data Acquisition & Management

Lunch

Ethics of Animal Research

R Smith
LG Adams
R Burghardt

LG Adams

C Seabury

R Smith

 

T Norman

MFR

Tue, May 13

BSL-2 Training

Future Opportunities for Research Experiences

Lunch

Blood-Borne Pathogen Training

C McFarland

A Kier, R Smith

 

S Koepnick

GSC Rm 101A

Thu, May 22

Journal Club (Group 1)


Tour of Texas A&M Institute for Preclinical Studies (TIPS)

A Heard
T Rice
B Thompson

M Lenox

MFR

Mon, May 26

Memorial Day Holiday

Thu, May 29

12:00pm — Writing Scientific Papers
Authorship
Peer Review of Papers

6:30pm — Veterinary Scientist Careers Dinner with Mentors

C Long


Fellows & Mentors

MFR


Caffe Capri

Thu, Jun 5

Center for Biodefense & Emerging Infectious Diseases
University of Texas Medical Branch

K Schuenke
D Walker

Galveston

Thu, Jun 12

Keeling Center for Comparative Medicine & Research
MD Anderson Cancer Center

CR Abee, WB Baze, AG Brady, et al.

Bastrop

Thu, Jun 19

Preparing Poster & Slide Presentations

Direectors, Mentors

MFR

Thu, Jun 26

Texas Heart Institute:

Comparative Cardiovascular Pathology

Center for Cell & Organ Biotechnology/Regenerative Medicine

 

F Clubb

D Taylor, K Peek

Houston

Thu, Jul 3

Journal Club (Group 2/3)

Fellows

MFR

Fri, Jul 4

Independence Day Holiday

Mon, Jul 7

Symposium Abstracts due to Cornell [link]

Thu, Jul 10

Journal Club (Groups 4/5)

Fellows

MFR

Thu, Jul 17

Journal Club (Groups 6/7)

Fellows

MFR

Thu, Jul 24

Elevator Talks
Plans for Conference & Cornell

Fellows

MFR

Wed, Jul 30

VMSRTP Conference, 2014

Fellows

VMTH 2004

Thu, Jul 31

Depart for Ithaca, NY

all

meet @ CVM

Jul 31 - Aug 3

Merial-NIH Veterinary Scholars Symposium at Cornell University (Ithaca, NY)

Sun, Aug 3

Return to College Station

all

return to CVM

Mon, Aug 11

Final Reports due to R Smith
End of VMSRTP, 2014

all