Skip Navigation

Schedule / Important Dates

VMSRTP Schedule: Summer, 2015

Schedule is subject to change; changes will be announced at weekly meetings & by email.
Rooms: DCR; Dean's Conference Room. MFR; Mark Francis Room

Tue, Sept 30

Informational Lunch: About the VMSRTP

Coordinators
Previous Students

VMA 206

Tue, Oct 14

Informational Lunch: Mentor Selection

Coordinators
Previous Students

VMA 206

Fri, Dec 12

On-Line Applications Accepted

Fri, Feb 6

Application Deadline

 

 

Feb 21

Announcement of 2015 Fellows

 

 

Apr 8

Kick-Off Lunch for 2015 VMSRTP

Scientific Method & Development of Grant Proposals

Coordinators

C Long

tba

May 11-18

Complete Research Proposals
Complete On-Line Training

 

 

Mon, May 18

8:30am: Intro to the VMSRTP

9:30am: Ethics of Animal Research

11:00am: Intro to Statistics for Biomedical Scientists

Lunch

R Smith

J Stallone

N Cohen

 

VMA 206

 

 

MFR

Tue, May 19

8:30am: Grant Proposals & Funding Research

9:00am: Further Opportunities for Research Experience

9:30am: Data Acquisition & Management

10:30am: Tour: Texas A&M Institute for Preclinical Sciences (TIPS)

Lunch

A Kier

Kier/Smith

C Long

D Caldwell

 

VMA 206

 

 

TIPS

MFR

Wed, May 20

12:00pm: Blood-Borne Pathogen Training

2:00pm: BSL-2 Training

C McFarland

S Koepnick

GSC Rm 101A

Wed, May 20

6:00pm: Veterinary Scientist Careers Dinner with Mentors

Fellows & Mentors

Caffe Capri

Mon, May 25

Memorial Day Holiday

Thu, May 28

Texas Heart Institute:

Comparative Cardiovascular Pathology

Regenerative Medicine
Center for Cell & Organ Biotechnology

Wafic Said Molecular Cardiology Research Lab

 

F Clubb

D Taylor &
K Peek

R Dixon

Houston

Fri, Jun 5

Scientific Publishing

C Long, A Kier

MFR

Thu, Jun 11

Keeling Center for Comparative Medicine & Research
MD Anderson Cancer Center

C Abee, W Baze, A Brady, et al.

Bastrop

Thu, Jun 18

Center for Biodefense & Emerging Infectious Diseases
University of Texas Medical Branch

K Schuenke

Galveston

Fri, Jun 26

Posters & Presentations

Coordinators

DCR

Fri, Jul 3

Journal Club

Irving, Rozas, Thompson

MFR

Fri, Jul 10

Journal Club

Caruso, Chung, Pinckard
Platt, Washington, Reeve

DCR

Tue, Jul 14

Symposium Abstracts due to UC-Davis (midnight PDT)

Fri, Jul 17

Journal Club

Bertolini, Goodwin, McEntire
Nava, Ragauskas, Yazdchi

DCR

Fri, Jul 24

Journal Club

Andrews, Behroozi, Retzloff
Alvarez, Blanco, Esposito

DCR

Wed, Jul 29

Poster Session & Elevator Talks

Fellows (all)

Academic Mall

Thu, Jul 30

Depart for Davis, CA

All

meet @ CVM

Jul 30 - Aug 1

Merial-NIH Veterinary Scholars Symposium at University of California at Davis

Sun, Aug 2

Return to College Station

all

return to CVM

Thu, Aug 6

Final Research Reports due

Fri, Aug 7

VMSRTP Conference, 2015

Fellows

VMTH 101