Skip Navigation

Schedule / Important Dates

VMSRTP Schedule: Summer, 2017

Schedule is subject to change; changes will be announced at weekly meetings & by email.
Rooms: MFR: Mark Francis Room (VENI 315); GSC: General Services Center

Mon, May 15

Get Started in Your Labs

Fellows
Mentors

Labs

Tue, May 16

Orientation & Lunch

Faculty

MFR

Wed, May 17

BSL-2 Training (9:00AM)
Lunch
Blood-Borne Pathogen Training (12:30PM)

TAMU

GSC 101A

Thu, May 18

Veterinary Scientist Careers Dinner with Mentors (6:00PM)

Fellows & Mentors

LaRiviera Restaurant
3700 S Texas Ave, Suite 300, Bryan

Thu, May 25

tba

 

 

Mon, May 29

Memorial Day Holiday

Thu, June 1

Keeling Center for Comparative Medicine & Research, MD Anderson Cancer Center

C Abee, W Baze, A Brady, et al.

Bastrop

Thu, June 8

Scientific Publishing: Writing a Paper

Dr. Gaddy

MFR

Thu, June 15

Posters & Presentations

Faculty

MFR

Thu, June 22

Journal Club: Groups 1 & 2

Fellows

MFR

Thu, June 29

Texas Heart Institute:
Comparative Cardiovascular Pathology
Regenerative Medicine / Center for Cell & Organ Biotechnology
Wafic Said Molecular Cardiology Research Lab


Clubb, Weeks, Costas
Taylor, Gobin
Dixon, Vanderslice, Woodside

Houston

Tue, July 4

Independence Day Holiday

Thu, July 6

Journal Club: Groups 3 & 4

Fellows

MFR

mid-July

National Veterinary Scholars Symposium Abstracts Due

Thu, July 13

Journal Club: Groups 5 & 6

Fellows

MFR

Thu, July 20

Journal Club: Groups 7 & 8

Fellows

MFR

Thu, July 27

Elevator Talks

Fellows

MFR

Fri, July 28

Posters Due

Fellows

Creative Technologies

Wed, August 2

VMSRTP Conference

Fellows

tba

Thu, August 3

Final Reports Due

Fellows

 

August 3-5

National Veterinary Scholars Symposium at the NIH

 

 

 

 

Preparatory Meetings & Events

Sept 14, 2016

Informational Lunch: About the VMSRTP

Coordinators
Previous Students

VENI 101A

Oct 13, 2016

Informational Lunch: Mentor Selection

Coordinators
Previous Students

VENI 101A

mid-Nov, 2016

On-Line Applications Accepted

Fri, Feb 3

Application Deadline

 

 

mid-Feb

Announcement of 2017 Fellows

 

 

Tue, March 21

Kick-Off Dinner for 2017 VMSRTP
Scientific Method & Development of Grant Proposals

Coordinators
C Long

MFR

Mon, May 15

Complete Research Proposals
Complete On-Line Training