Faculty Mentors

Faculty mentors

*The following is by no means a complete list of possible mentors. Mentors may also be selected from other colleges across the university or from outside Texas A&M University with prior approval.

mentors-2.jpg

mentors-3.jpg

mentors-4.jpg

 

 

 

MENTORRESEARCH AREAS
Helene Andrews-Polymenis,  HSC, MPIM handrews@tamu.eduUse mouse genetics to understand the host determinants that contribute to different disease outcomes after infection with bacterial pathogens. 
Angela Bordin, VTPB abordin@cvm.tamu.eduHost-pathogen interaction in horses and foals, innate immune memory, and diagnostics of equine infectious diseases
Jeffrey Cirillo, HSC, MPIM jdcirillo@tamu.eduDeveloping interventions for respiratory diseases including COVID-19, tuberculosis, and pneumonias
Michelle Coleman, VLCS Coleman@cvm.tamu.eduIdentify differences in inflammatory and metabolic responses in obese and non-obese asthmatic horses
Noah Cohen, VLCS NCohen@cvm.tamu.edu1) Immune responses of foals or horses to vaccines or infection, 2) diagnostic test evaluation for equine infectious disease
Kate Creevy, VSCS kcreevy@cvm.tamu.eduDog aging project: pilot tests of mobility or cognitive measures in pet dogs; frequency of exercise in particular disease diagnosis; biospecimen analysis
Mike Criscitiello, VTPB mcriscitiello@cvm.tamu.eduEvolution of the vertebrate adaptive immune system, immunogenetic diversification of lymphocyte antigen receptors (I,I & E)
Lindsay Dawson, VTPP ldawson@cvm.tamu.eduRegulation of mouse digit regeneration
Paul de Figueiredo, COM pdefigueiredo@tamu.eduHost-viral pathogen interactions: BLOS1 control of innate immunity against viral pathogens; Biotechnology development
Dana Gaddy, VIBS dgaddy@cvm.tamu.eduExplaining muscle weakness and bone mineralization defects in sheep hypophosphatasia
Mike Golding, VTPP mgolding@cvm.tamu.eduImaging fetal hearts of alcohol-exposed offspring
Richard Gomer, Biology; Noah Cohen, Michelle Coleman, VLCS Rgomer@tamu.eduTesting a potential therapeutic for equine asthma on horses with asthma.  The initial results are very promising, and the project will involve some bench biochemistry, histology, and further assessments of equine pulmonary function
Greg Johnson, VIBS gjohnson@cvm.tamu.eduRegulation of placentation, maternal fetal interactions in the pig
Sara Lawhon, Laura Bryan, VTPB/ Canaan Whitfield-Cargile, VLCS slawhon@cvm.tamu.eduAntimicrobial susceptibility and bacterial pathogenesis in Salmonella and Staphylococcus spp
Chuck Long, VTPP clong@cvm.tamu.eduEquine TNF Rc blockade of inflammation in horse cells
Mary Nabity, VTPB mnabity@cvm.tamu.eduClinical and Translational Sciences–Biomarkers and pathogenesis of kidney disease in dogs
Annie Newell-Fugate, VTPP Anewell-fugate@cvm.tamu.eduAssess effect of androgens on mitochondrial function in white adipose tissue of female mice as a model for how androgens impair mitochondrial function in this tissue and contribute to peripheral insulin resistance in patients suffering from polycystic ovary syndrome (PCOS).
Keri Norman, VIBS knorman@cvm.tamu.eduEpidemiology of bacterial foodborne pathogens at the interface between agriculture and human health
Steve Safe, VTPP ssafe@cvm.tamu.eduDevelopment of ligand for the orphan nuclear receptor 4A and their applications in cancer, endometriosis and neuronal diseases
Meriam Saleh, VTPB msaleh@cvm.tamu.eduParasitology, particularly diagnosis/molecular characterization of canine intestinal parasites; tick-borne diseases; improved diagnosis of heartworm
James Samuel, COM jsamuel@medicine@tamhsc.eduImmunologic model of skin sensitivity; infection-based studies to test virulence in a SCID mouse model of acute Q fever
Erin Scott, VSCS/ Schubot escott@cvm.tamu.eduID ophthalmic parameters of cockatiels or Quaker parrots
Larry Suva, VTPP lsuva@cvm.tamu.eduBone repair mechanisms in mouse models of Down Syndrome
Guilherme Verocai, VTPB gverocai@cvm.tamu.edu1) Advancing molecular diagnostics of zoonotic, vector-borne nematodes of domestic and wild carnivores (e.g., dogs, cats, wild canids); 2) Understanding the biodiversity and phylogenetic relationships of parasitic nematodes of wild North American ungulates (e.g., bison, cervids).
Paul Morley, VERO
pmorley@cvm.tamu.edu
Use sequencing, bioinformatic and statistical analysis to address: 1) liver abscesses in cattle, 2) impact of antibiotic treatment on host microbiome/resistome (cattle and horses), 3) hemolytic bowel syndrome in dairy cattle, or 4) relationship between host microbiome and disease occurrence in cattle.
Sonya Wesselowski, VSCS swesselowski@cvm.tamu.eduClinical study on large breed dogs with mitral valve disease
Zhilong Yang, VTPB yang@cvm.tamu.edu1) identifying host factors that affect vaccinia virus replication, (2) identifying antiviral compounds, and (3) developing vaccinia virus-based anti-cancer agents and vaccines against other infectious diseases through collaborative efforts.