Schedule / Important Dates

VMSRTP Schedule: Summer 2020

The schedule is subject to change; changes will be announced at weekly meetings and by email.

DateEventPeoplePlace
Mon., Sept. 5, 2019 Informational Lunch: About the VMSRTP Coordinators +
Previous Students
VENI 106B
Fri., Nov. 1, 2019Informational Lunch: Mentor Selection Coordinators +
Previous Students
VENI 101A
mid-Nov. 2019On-Line Applications Accepted
Mon., Feb. 3, 2020Application Deadline
mid-Feb. 2020Announcement of 2020 Fellows
(TBC) mid-Mar. 2020Kick-Off Dinner: Scientific Method & Development of Grand ProposalsCoordinators/
Dr. C. Long
TBD
Thu., Apr. 16, 2020Proposal writing workshop (5 pm–7 pm)Drs. D. Gaddy + C. LongVIDI 104
Fri., Apr. 24, 2020Proposals due by email to Dr. T. Vemulapalli
Mon, May 11, 2020Orientation to Responsible Conduct of Biomedical Research

8:30 a.m. — Ethics of Animal Research / Research Grants and Funding Opportunities / Mentor-Mentee Relationships

12:30 p.m. — Lunch
Drs. T. Vemulapalli + C. Long
VIDI 102
Tues, May 12, 2020BSL-2, Blood Borne Pathogen training (9-11 a.m.)
Lab Safety/CITI/Working with IACUC (1-4 p.m.)
Biosafety Office
Online courses
VIDI 102
Wed, May 13, 2020Orientation to Responsible Conduct of Biomedical Research

8:30 a.m. — Ethical, Responsible Conduct of Research / Statistics in Research / Data Management & Ownership / Preparing a Professional Profile

12:30 p.m. — Lunch
Drs. R. Vemulapalli, S. Hamer + H. Moberly
VIDI 102
Thu., May 14, 2020Evaluating & Presenting a Scientific Journal ArticleDr. de FigueiredoVIDI 102
Fri., May 15, 2020CVM Picnic (11:30 a.m.–1 p.m.)AllVBEC Courtyard
Tue., May 19, 2020Dinner: Career Paths for Veterinary ScientistsScholars/MentorsCafé Capri
Thu., May 21, 2020Texas Heart Institute:
— Regenerative Medicine Laboratory
— Research Animal Facilities

Houston Methodist Research Institute, Department of Comparative Medicine:
— Research Animal, Surgery and Imaging Facilities
— Translational Research in Orthopedics
Taylor + Peek
Costas



L. Jenkins
L. Jenkins

Houston
Thu., May 28, 2020Journal Club Presentations (noon-1pm)
(Dr. D. Gaddy)
ScholarsVIDI 102
Thu., Jun. 4, 2020Keeling Center for Comparative Medicine Research,
MD Anderson Science Park
(Drs. T. Vemulapalli + D. Gaddy)
W. Baze + othersBastrop
Thu., Jun. 11, 2020Journal Club Presentations (noon-1pm)
(Dr. T. Vemulapalli)
Alumni corner — Invitee in academic residency (TBD)
ScholarsVIDI 102
Thu., Jun. 11, 2020Texas A&M Global Health Research Complex (2-4 p.m.)Scholars/
Drs. T. Vemulapalli, D. Gaddy + C.Long
GHRC
Thu., Jun. 18, 2020Journal Club Presentations (noon-1pm)
(Dr. D. Gaddy)
Alumni corner — Invitee with PhD (TBD)
ScholarsVIDI 102
Thu., Jun. 25, 2020Journal Club Presentations (noon-1pm)
(Dr. D. Gaddy)
Alumni corner — Invitee: existing Texas A&M T32 trainee (TBD)
ScholarsVIDI 102
Thu., Jul. 2, 2020Organizing / evaluating data into an abstract (noon-1pm)Dr. D. GaddyVIDI 102
Thu., Jul. 9, 2020Organizing project / data into posters, oral presentations, and manuscripts (noon-1pm)Dr. D. GaddyVIDI 102
~Thu., Jul. 16, 2020Symposium Abstracts due to AAVMC at 1 p.m. CDT (estimated)All Scholars
Thu., Jul. 16, 2020Elevator speeches and review of best practices for poster presentations (noon-1pm)All Scholars VIDI 102
Wed., Jul. 22, 2020Posters due for printing All Scholars
Thu., Jul. 23, 2020Preparing and delivering effective research presentations; Program assessment and evaluation (noon-1pm)Drs. D. Gaddy + C. LongVIDI 102
Wed., Jul. 29, 2020Texas A&M Summer Veterinary Student Research ConferenceScholars/MentorsVENI 101B
Thu., Jul. 30, 2020Mandatory: Draft Manuscript Writing Workshop (12–2 p.m.)
Manuscript Draft Due for Review
Drs. T. Vemulapalli, D. Gaddy + C.Long
Fri., Jul. 31, 2020Travel to San Diego, CA to National Veterinary Scholars Symposium Scholars/Mentors
Fri.-Sat., Aug. 1-2, 2020National Veterinary Scholars Symposium – UCSD / Western State UniversitySan Diego, CA
Mon., Aug. 3, 2020Return travel to College StationScholars/Mentors
Mon., Aug. 17, 2020Final Manuscripts due to Mentors, Program
Project completion and final NVSS evaluation
All Scholars