Current Team

Principal Investigator


Dr. Sarah A. Hamer

Sarah A. Hamer, MS, PhD, DVM, DACVPM (epi)

shamer@cvm.tamu.edu | 979.847.5693

  • Diplomate of the American College Veterinary Preventive Medicine [DACVPM (epi)], 2016
  • DVM, Michigan State Univ., 2011
  • PhD, Michigan State Univ., 2010, Fisheries & Wildlife; Ecology, Evol. Biology & Behavior
  • MS, Univ. of Illinois, 2003, Natural Resources & Environmental Sciences
  • BS, Univ. of Illinois, 2001, Natural Resources & Environmental Sciences

I am a veterinary ecologist specializing in wildlife and zoonotic disease ecology and epidemiology. My research originates at the intersection of ecology, epidemiology, and conservation, and encompasses diverse taxa (bacteria, ticks, mosquitoes, birds, mice, dogs, humans, and more). Given the emergence of pathogens shared by humans and animals, this is an important time to utilize multidisciplinary tools to improve human, animal, and ecosystem health.

Dr. Hamer’s Directory Profile >>


Research Staff


Lisa Auckland

Lisa Auckland

Research Associate
lauckland@cvm.tamu.edu | 979-458-4924


kkillets photo

Keswick Killets, MS

Research Associate
kkillets@cvm.tamu.edu | 979-458-4924


Sujata Balasubramanian, MS, PhD

Associate Research Scientist
sbalasubramanian@cvm.tamu.edu


Rachel Curtis-Robles, PhD

Assistant Research Scientist (part-time)
rcurtis@cvm.tamu.edu


Postdoctoral Associates


Graduate Students


Edward Davila, MPH

PhD Student (Biomedical Sciences: Infection, Immunity, & Epidemiology)
edwarddavila@tamu.edu
TAMU Diversity Fellow 2018–2022


Rachel Busselman

PhD/DVM Student (Ecology & Evolutionary Biology)
r_busselman@tamu.edu
TAMU Merit Fellow 2018–2022


Meredith Anderson, DVM

PhD Student (Ecology & Evolutionary Biology)
ande1616@tamu.edu
TAMU Merit Fellow 2020–2024


Jordan Salomon, MS

PhD Student (Ecology & Evolutionary Biology)
jsalomon@cvm.tamu.edu
TAMU Diversity Fellow 2019-2023


Juan Pablo Fimbres Macias, BSc Vet Med, MSc

PhD Student (Biomedical Sciences: Infection, Immunity, & Epidemiology)
jfimbres@cvm.tamu.edu
CVM Diversity Fellow 2019-2023


Carlos Rodriguez

MS Veterinary Public Health- Epidemiology (thesis option)
crodriguez@tvmdl.tamu.edu


Cassandra Durden

MS Veterinary Public Health- Epidemiology (thesis option)
durdencj@cvm.tamu.edu


Ilana Mosley

PhD Student (Biomedical Sciences: Infection, Immunity, & Epidemiology)
dixm57@tamu.edu
IMSD T32 and Avilés-Johnson Fellowship 2021-2025


Non-Thesis Graduate Students


Daniel Obregon

MS Veterinary Public Health Epidemiology


Lauren Cole

MS Veterinary Public Health Epidemiology


Luis Quintanilla

MS Veterinary Public Health Epidemiology


Veterinary Student & Resident Researchers


Undergraduate Students


Grant Arrington

Undergraduate researcher