Current Team

Principal Investigator

Sarah A. Hamer MS PhD DVM DACVPM (epi)

Sarah A. Hamer, MS, PhD, DVM, DACVPM (epi)


Associate Professor of Epidemiology
Veterinary Integrative Biosciences & Veterinary Pathobiology


Richard Schubot Endowed Chair & Director of the Schubot Exotic Bird Health Center
Associate Wildlife Biologist®

shamer@cvm.tamu.edu | 979.847.5693

Diplomate of the American College Veterinary Preventive Medicine, 2016
DVM, Michigan State Univ., 2011
PhD, Michigan State Univ., 2010, Fisheries & Wildlife; Ecology, Evol. Biology & Behavior
MS, Univ. of Illinois, 2003, Natural Resources & Environmental Sciences
BS, Univ. of Illinois, 2001, Natural Resources & Environmental Sciences

I am a veterinary ecologist specializing in wildlife and zoonotic disease ecology and epidemiology. My research originates at the intersection of ecology, epidemiology, and conservation, and encompasses diverse taxa (bacteria, ticks, mosquitoes, birds, mice, dogs, humans, and more). Given the emergence of pathogens shared by humans and animals, this is an important time to utilize multidisciplinary tools to improve human, animal, and ecosystem health.

Dr. Hamer's Directory Profile >>

Research Staff

Auckland

Lisa Auckland


Research Associate
lauckland@cvm.tamu.edu | 979-458-4924
Killets

Keswick Killets


Research Associate
kkillets@cvm.tamu.edu | 979-458-4924
Balasubramanian

Sujata Balasubramanian, MS, PhD


Associate Research Scientist
sbalasubramanian@cvm.tamu.edu | 979-458-4924

Postdoctoral Associates

Curtis-Robles

Rachel Curtis-Robles, PhD


Postdoctoral Research Associate (part-time)
rcurtis@cvm.tamu.edu
Hodo

Carolyn Hodo, DVM, PhD, DACVP


Postdoctoral Research Associate (part-time)
chodo@cvm.tamu.edu
Visit Carolyn’s website here.
Wormington

Jillian Wormington, MS, PhD


Postdoctoral Research Associate
jwormington@cvm.tamu.edu
Visit Jillian’s website here.

Graduate Students

DeBrock

Spencer DeBrock


PhD Student (Biomedical Sciences: Infection, Immunity, & Epidemiology)
spencer.debrock@tamu.edu
CVM Merit Fellow 2018–2022
Davila

Edward Davila, MPH


PhD Student (Biomedical Sciences: Infection, Immunity, & Epidemiology)
edwarddavila@tamu.edu
TAMU Diversity Fellow 2018–2022
Busselman

Rachel Busselman


PhD Student (Ecology & Evolutionary Biology)
r_busselman@tamu.edu
TAMU Merit Fellow 2018–2022
Meyers

Alyssa Meyers


PhD Student (Biomedical Sciences with Epidemiology Emphasis)
ameyers@cvm.tamu.edu
NSF Graduate Research Fellow
Dissertation: Canine Chagas disease epidemiology
Rodriguez

Carlos Rodriguez


MS Student (Veterinary Public Health: Epidemiology)
crodriguez@tvmdl.tamu.edu
Zecca

Italo Zecca, MPH


PhD Student (Biomedical Sciences with Epidemiology Emphasis)
ibzecca@cvm.tamu.edu
CVM Diversity Fellow in Veterinary Integrative Biosciences
Dissertation: Trypanosoma cruzi transmission dynamics across diverse socioeconomic and biologic landscapes

Non-Thesis Graduate Students

Peterson

Cyrena Peterson


Non-thesis MS in Veterinary Public Health: Epidemiology

Veterinary Student & Resident Researchers

Sneed

Skye Sneed


VMSRTP Summer ’18
Dowd

Becky Dowd


VMSRTP Summer ’19

Undergraduate Students

Cubb

Ashley Cubb


Undergraduate researcher
Koger

Allyson Koger


Undergraduate researcher