CVM Brings Home Top Awards from Annual Pathology Meeting

Students and residents from the Texas A&M College of Veterinary Medicine & Biomedical Sciences (CVM) won several awards at the American College of Veterinary Pathologists (ACVP) and American Society for Veterinary Clinical Pathology (ASVCP) 2019 annual meeting.

ACVP & ASVCP annual meeting logo

The meeting, which took place in San Antonio on Nov. 9-13, celebrated 70 years of the ACVP setting the standard in veterinary pathology.

In the Veterinary Student Poster Award’s Clinical Cases category, second-year veterinary student Anna Blick received first place with her poster “Specific in Situ Detection of Trypanosoma cruzi in Chagas Disease,” which she worked on with clinical associate professor Dr. Raquel Rech.

Blick received an award of $250 for her poster and earned an additional $250 for the Texas A&M Student Chapter of the American College of Veterinary Pathologists.

Clinical pathology resident Dr. Candice Chu received the ASVCP Young Investigator Award for her oral presentation “Urinary MicroRNA Profiling in Dogs with Chronic Kidney Disease Caused by Glomerular Diseases.”

The Young Investigator Award was created in 2000 to recognize veterinary pathology trainees who provide new knowledge for the field. Chu was presented with her award of $500 and a congratulatory letter at the ASVCP Mystery Slide Session at the annual meeting.

In the ACVP Young Investigator Awards (YIA) Poster Competition, CVM resident Dr. Carolina Azevedo received a $500 award for winning first place in the Diagnostic Pathology category for her poster “Pathological and Flow Cytometric Features of a Case of Canine Lymphangiosarcoma.”

She completed this study with Ph.D. student Dr. Lauren Stranahan, clinical assistant professor Dr. Dominique Wiener, and Dr. Karen Russell, professor and associate department head for clinical service and residency programs.

Their study was also a collaboration with Dr. Anne Avery and Dr. Kari Frankhouse, from Colorado State University’s College of Veterinary Medicine & Biomedical Sciences.

Also in the YIA Poster Competition Diagnostic Pathology category, pathology resident Dr. Brianne Taylor received third place and $200 for her poster “Morphologic Characterization of Nasopharyngeal Cicatrix Syndrome in Ten Horses,” which she worked on with clinical associate professor Dr. Raquel Rech and Dr. Keith Chaffin, associate department head for clinical programs and professor of large animal internal medicine.

The ACVP has been fostering excellence in veterinary pathology since 1949 to protect and improve animal, human, and environmental health for the betterment of society.

The ASVCP is a nonprofit scientific organization dedicated to the promotion of scientific advancement, education, and standards in veterinary laboratory medicine.

Show Buttons
Hide Buttons