CVM Staff Recognized at Annual Awards Ceremony

Thirteen staff members from the Texas A&M College of Veterinary Medicine & Biomedical Sciences (CVM) were recognized at the 2019 Staff Awards Ceremony on July 30 for their outstanding performance and accomplishments.

CVM staff and faculty members gathered in VENI 106A at 8:00 a.m. after enjoying breakfast and coffee. The ceremony began with a brief welcome from Dr. Eleanor Green, the Carl B. King Dean of Veterinary Medicine, who also thanked the 2019 CVM Staff Awards Committee for choosing the award winners.2019 Staff Awards Recipients

“I’ve been talking to several people lately and a lot of them made comments about how wonderful it is to be at the College of Veterinary Medicine & Biomedical Sciences at Texas A&M,” Dean Green said to CVM staff. “It’s because of you; you make it what it is.

“The reason that Texas A&M is so great is that we have so many top performers who work together to make this place what it is,” Dean Green said.

Dr. Kenita Rogers, associate dean for professional programs, then took over as master of ceremonies to announce the award winners.

“These recipients characterize a commitment of excellence to our clients,” Rogers said. “They show initiative and responsible stewardship…and they’re just awesome human beings.”

Winners of the CVM Staff Recognition Award include Bruce Worley, Chelsea Michalak, Dana Cornett, Julie Austin, Rhonda Bodiford, Victor Pineda, Jill Lee, Jennifer Gauntt, Debra Turner, and Shelley Sides.

In addition, Charles “C.W.” Haynes received the W. Terry Stiles Service Award, Belinda Hale received the CVM Excellence in Inclusion & Diversity Award, and Elizabeth Hinton received the Pearl Enfield Staff Leadership Award.

Many other staff members were also recognized with longevity awards for up to 25 years of service at the CVM.

The five-year award recipients were Josh Addison, Richard Colson, Brandy Craft, Rebecca Davis, Jessica Eastridge, Maria Garcia, Hannah Hardy, Marina Harrison, Shannon Jackson, Jill Jarvis, Suzanne Kabat, Zejna Merdzo, Aaron Pizzitola, Kindra Rader, Jerri Rubio, Melissa “Mo” Rugh, Misty Skaggs, Michaela Thomas, Javier Vinasco-Torres, James West, Travis Williams, Gus Wright, Jing Wu, Yue Xing, and Xue Yu.

The 10-year award recipients were Eric Bhattariai, Jeffrey Bray, Lauren Catalena, Sankar Chaki, Jaclyn “Jaci” Christensen, Caleb Coursey, Joshua Freeman, Fengguang Guo, Tina Karkoska, Erin Lester, Amy Savarino, Brian Spanhel, Jason Wilson-Maki, and Haili Zhang.

The 15-year award recipients were Zachary Anderson, Katrina LaCaze, Chaitali Mukherjee, Lisa Roberts-Helton, and Cindy Voelker.

The 20-year award recipients were Lisa “Gail” Broussard, Janice Couts, Wade Friedeck, Ellie Greenbaum, Jianhua Guo, Charles “C.W.” Haynes, Linda Knight, Sandra Nunn, Victor Pineda, Sheila Teague, and Marissa Townson.

Lastly, the 25-year award recipients were Andy Ambrus, Sheila Carter, Dana Cornett, Gloria Craft, Kimberly Daniel, Belinda Hale, Martha Huebner, Elaine Lippard, Debra Turner, and Vidal Villarreal.

View photos from the event on Flickr.