VMBS, TVMA Recognize Faculty, Staff, Students At Annual Awards Ceremony

Dr. Dustin Major and Dr. John August
Dr. Dustin Major and Dr. John R. August

The Texas A&M School of Veterinary Medicine & Biomedical Sciences (VMBS) recognized 71 students, faculty, and staff at the 2024 Honors & Awards Ceremony on April 24.

“The Texas A&M School of Veterinary Medicine & Biomedical Sciences would not be the great institution it is without the academic excellence and commitment of its faculty, staff, and students,” said Dr. John R. August, the Carl B. King Dean of Veterinary Medicine. “We applaud our recipients for their academic achievements and the impact that they are making through teaching, research, patient care, leadership, and service.”

View photos from the ceremony on the VMBS Flickr account.

2024 Honors & Awards Recipients:

  • American Academy of Veterinary Dermatology Student Award: Jaylen Adams
  • American Animal Hospital Association Award for Proficiency in Primary Care: Emily Watson
  • American Association of Feline Practitioners Award: Madeleine Swindell
  • American College of Veterinary Internal Medicine Award: Hailey Drerup, Hannah Lam & Marissa Little
  • American College of Veterinary Ophthalmology Award: Marissa Little
  • American College of Veterinary Pathologists Award for Excellence in Veterinary Pathology: Amiri Fowler Cadena
  • American College of Veterinary Radiology Student Award: Casey Welsh
  • American College of Veterinary Surgeons Student Proficiency Award: Alex Pastis & Casey Welsh
  • Arden Kemler Award: Kortney Lyle
  • Award for Proficiency in Veterinary Emergency & Critical Care: Kaitlyn Wofford
  • Bridges Teaching & Service Award: Jill Hiney, Raquel Rech & Mandy Zachgo
  • Dechra Excellence in Dermatology Award: Hannah Hoose
  • Dechra Excellence in Equine Sports Medicine Award: Joe Pace
  • Dechra Excellence in Small Animal Internal Medicine Award: Madeleine Swindell
  • George T. Edds Award: Lucie Ford & Kelly Rivenbark
  • Gerald Bratton & Charles Hall Clinical Neurology Award : Gifty Thomas
  • Griffeth-Quick Cardiology Award: Kathryn Dickerson
  • John Milliff Award for Teaching: Dustin Major
  • John Milliff Veterinary Student Award: Vickie Wolfe
  • John Paul Delaplane Award: Kaylee Kipp
  • Juan Carlos Robles Emanuelli Teaching Award: Yvonne Wikander
  • Kaytee Avian & Special Species Excellence Award: Dani Burleson
  • L.P. Jones Pathology Resident Award: Sarita Neupane
  • Merck Parasitology Award: Alexa Mendoza & Mary Schech
  • North American Veterinary Anesthesia Society Student Anesthesia Award: Douglas Ferry
  • Outstanding Graduate Student & Postdoc Mentor Award: Scott Dindot
  • Outstanding Masters Student Award: Sharanee Phoebe Sytha
  • Outstanding Non-Thesis Masters Student Award: Amarpreet Kaur Dhaliwal
  • Outstanding PhD Student Award: Kelly Rivenbark
  • Outstanding Postdoctoral Research Associate Award: Anil Pant
  • Outstanding Research Leader Award: Weston Porter
  • Outstanding Research Support Award: Lisa Even
  • Outstanding Scientific Achievement Award: Michael Golding, Sarah Hamer & Zhilong Yang
  • Outstanding Young Faculty Research Award: Robert Valeris-Chacin
  • Patton W. Burns Award: Kadden Kothmann
  • Proficiency in Theriogenology Award: Caitlin Landreth
  • Richard H. Davis Teaching Award: Yatta Boakari
  • Schubot Avian Health Director’s Award: Meredith Anderson & Cora Garcia
  • Texas Veterinary Medical Association Research Award: Ashley Saunders
  • Texas Veterinary Medical Association Teaching Award: Tamy Frank-Cannon
  • Texas Veterinary Medical Foundation Cultivating Community Award: Ifra Danawala
  • Texas Veterinary Medical Foundation Earl Waddell Award: Gabriela Rivas & Bridget Savitske
  • Texas Veterinary Medical Foundation Johnson Memorial Award: Shelby Gasson & Heath Manning
  • Texas Veterinary Medical Foundation Philanthropy Award: Samantha Hicks & Ashley Saddler
  • Texas Veterinary Medical Foundation Student Research Scholar Award: Kelsey O’Hara & Cody Westmoreland
  • United States Public Health Service Excellence in Public Health Award: Rachel Busselman
  • Veterinary Cancer Society Bob Rosenthal Student Award: Miranda McBeath
  • Veterinary Medical Teaching Hospital Clinical Service Award: Courtney Baetge, Jessica Hokamp, Shannon Reed, Lauren Stranahan & Sonya Wesselowski
  • VMBS Research Scholar Award: Alison Olsen, Madison Rowe & Kayleigh Shumaker
  • Wade Burton & Susan Hopper Veterinary Emergency Team Award: Ashley Morrison
  • Walter Dub Ruoff Memorial Award: Melody Johannsen
  • Winnie Carter Wildlife & Exotic Animal Award: Alexis Brown & Jessica Stephenson
  • Zoetis Award for Veterinary Research Excellence: Jonathan Lidbury
  • Zoetis Distinguished Veterinary Teaching Award: Audrey Cook

Show Buttons
Hide Buttons