2002 Outstanding Alumni Awards

College Station, Texas – The College of Veterinary Medicine, Texas A&M University, honored five Outstanding Alumni at a ceremony on August 30, 2002 at the George Bush Library Conference Center.

Dr. Jerry B. PayneDr. J. Alford MooreDr. Doug BronstadDr. Raymond T. HanderDr. R. Henry Harrison

Dr. Jerry B. Payne, (DVM) Class of ’64, is a founding member and president of American Animal Health Inc. and American Pharmaceuticals and Cosmetics, Inc. Payne built his research and biologicals plant from the ground up and the company continues to be a leader in bovine bacterial research. Payne successfully developed the first freeze-dried avian encephalomyelitis vaccine to be licensed in the United States. In 1998, he founded and later became president of the Association of Veterinary Biological Companies.

Dr. J. Alford Moore, (DVM) Class of ’67, founded the Eastex Veterinary Clinic in 1970. Since its beginning, five more locations have been added with 13 veterinarians and over 70 employees. Moore is currently chairman of the TVMA’s Historical Committee and co-chairman of the TVMA’s Centennial Task Force. Moore has been actively involved in the Humble Independent School District, the Humble Intercontinental Rotary Club and South Main Baptist Church.

Dr. Doug Bronstad, (DVM) Class of ’72, is co- owner of the Animal Diagnostic Clinic, in Dallas, TX. He served as Staff Veterinarian at the Animal Hospital of Plano and owned and operated the Cedar Ridge Animal Clinic in Duncanville, TX. In 1994, he received the Texas Academy of Veterinary Practice Clinical Referral and Consultation Award. Bronstad is a co-founder of the Veterinary Referral Center of North Texas, which serves as a referral center for veterinary internal medicine, surgery, dermatology and radiology. He has served as president of both the Dallas County Veterinary Medical Association and the Texas Academy of Veterinary Practice, and is an active member of the TVMA, AVMA, and the American College of Veterinary Internal Medicine. Bronstad has competed in 20 marathons including the Boston Marathon in 1987 and 1988 and is an avid golfer.

The late Dr. Raymond T. Hander, (DVM) Class of ’38, served as president of the Panhandle Veterinary Medical Association and was selected by Southwestern Veterinarian as Outstanding Practitioner of Texas in 1952 for his untiring efforts in the advancement of the veterinary profession, his leadership ability, and participation in numerous civic activities such as the Boy Scouts. Hander purchased the Childress Veterinary Hospital in 1947 and was a member of the TVMA and the Texas Board of Veterinary Medical Examiners.

The late Dr. R. Henry Harrison, (DVM) Class of ’20, was the first graduate from the College of Veterinary Medicine and helped set the standard of excellence that continues today. He was a stand-out quarterback for the undefeated Aggie football teams of 1919 and 1920. He worked for the state of Texas as a veterinarian for four years before furthering his study at Baylor College of Medicine where he received his M.D. Following graduation, Harrison returned to Bryan, TX where he practiced until his retirement in 1958 and served as team physician for the Aggie football team. Harrison often made house calls for farmers and ranchers and created the first Veterinary School Full Scholarship in 1960.

“Each of these alumni have represented the College of Veterinary Medicine and the veterinary medical profession with great distinction,” said Dr. H. Richard Adams, Dean of the Texas A&M University College of Veterinary Medicine. “We are proud to recognize their accomplishments.”

Show Buttons
Hide Buttons