Skip Navigation

Honoring the Superheroes of the CVM at Annual Staff Awards Ceremony

Posted July 24, 2014

Staff Award Winners
2014 Staff Award Winners (not pictured: Tina Lilly)

COLLEGE STATION, Texas – The Texas A&M College of Veterinary Medicine & Biomedical Sciences (CVM) held its annual Staff Awards Ceremony Thursday, July 17, honoring 11 dedicated staff members for their excellence and showing recognition for their many successes as “Superheroes of the CVM.”

Dr. Mark Stickney, clinical associate professor at the CVM, or “Stickneyman,” as he was called for the ceremony, emceed the superhero-themed award show, which began with the musical performances of Anna Morrison and Lauren Pluhar.

The 2014 Staff Awards recipients were as follows:

  • Mary Sanders, Veterinary Technician in Small Animal Medicine & Surgery
  • Amy Savarino, Pharmacist at the Veterinary Medical Teaching Hospital
  • Kay Duncan, Medical Technologist in Clinical Microbiology
  • Kit Darling, Veterinary Medical Teaching Hospital Infection Control Coordinator
  • Lora Gonzales, Business Associate in the Department of Large Animal Clinical Sciences
  • Sheila Carter, Veterinary Medical Teaching Hospital Compliance Coordinator
  • Elizabeth Scanlin, Veterinary Technician in Neurology
  • Katrina Lacaze, Veterinary Technician in Equine Theriogenology
  • Samantha Watson, Veterinary Technician in Small Animal Oncology
  • Tina Lilly, Veterinary Technician in the Intensive Care Unit (ICU)

Cindy Voelker, business administrator in the Department of Veterinary Pathobiology, received the 2014 Pearl Enfield Staff Leadership Award. Pearl Enfield was a highly professional and committed mainstay of the administrative staff in the Department of Veterinary Integrative Biosciences (then called the Department of Veterinary Anatomy and Public Health) until her unexpected death in 1996. The Pearl Enfield Award was established in her honor to recognize a staff member who exhibited that same caliber of leadership and dedication to the college. Voelker was not able to be at the awards ceremony, so her granddaughter accepted the award on her behalf.

The awards were presented to employees based on nominations from their colleagues, which were reviewed by staff and faculty members serving on the Staff Awards Committee, and each recipient was presented with a plaque noting her achievement along with a monetary award.

“All recipients were especially deserving, as indicated by the exceptional comments,” said Dr. Eleanor M. Green, the Carl B. King Dean of Veterinary Medicine, as she congratulated the award winners and thanked all of the staff for their hard work and dedication to the CVM. “Thanks to everyone for making CVM a better place.”


For more information about the Texas A&M College of Veterinary Medicine & Biomedical Sciences, please visit our website at or join us on Facebook.


Dr. Megan Palsa
Executive Director of Communications, Media and Public Relations


Angela G. Clendenin
Communications Manager
979-739-5718 (Cell)

↑ Back to Top
« Back to Press Releases