Skip Navigation

Texas A&M College of Veterinary Medicine & Biomedical Sciences’ Dr. James Herman Receives A Presidential Professor of Teaching Excellence Award

Posted May 04, 2016


Dr. James Herman
COLLEGE STATION, Texas – The College of Veterinary Medicine & Biomedical Sciences (CVM) is pleased to announce Dr. James Herman, clinical professor in the Department of Veterinary Physiology and Pharmacology (VTPP) at the CVM has been selected as one of two recipients of the 2016 Presidential Professorships for Teaching Excellence. This honor is based upon the recommendation of a university-wide selection committee facilitated by Dean of Faculties John R. August, in concurrence with Provost Karan L. Watson and President Michael K. Young.

Two Presidential Professor for Teaching Excellence Awards are presented every spring, each with a $25,000 stipend. The recipients are given the title “Presidential Professor for Teaching Excellence,” which they retain for the remainder of his or her career. Along with Herman, Dr. Arvind Mahajan of Mays Business School received this award.

Herman holds four degrees from Texas A&M—a B.S., DVM, M.S., and Ph.D. He joined the veterinary faculty in 1996 after operating a practice in San Antonio, TX. His commitment to excellence in teaching has been recognized through The Association of Former Students’ College-Level and University-Level Awards for teaching, and he is a Montague-Center for Teaching Excellence Scholar. He received a $400,000 grant from the National Science Foundation to research how bioengineers use the internet to enhance collaborative teaching experiences.

“We were proud and honored to hear President Young’s announcement that our own Dr. Herman is receiving the prestigious Presidential Professor for Teaching Excellence Award at May graduation,” said Dr. Eleanor M. Green, the Carl B. King dean of veterinary medicine. “He has made exceptional contributions to our college and to the university, and his remarkable achievements in the classroom are evident in the lives of his students.”

A few of the comments in his nomination letter reflect his impact on students, “His lectures were so entertaining and really aided in my understanding of the material,” said one student. “Dr. Herman is the most inspiring teacher that I have ever had, he made the classroom environment conducive to learning by interacting with us and making us feel comfortable,” said another.

Dr. Larry Suva, department head of VTPP said, “To quote Albert Einstein, ‘It is the supreme art of the teacher to awaken joy in creative expression and knowledge.’ This attribute epitomizes Dr. Herman’s teaching philosophy and is what all his students’ experience. I am privileged to know him and very thankful that Dr. Herman is a member of our department, college, and university.”

The Presidential Professor Award nominations are received from students, faculty members, and deans in each of the university’s colleges. Faculty Senate representatives review each nomination and narrow the list that is sent to the president for the final selections.

“My main goal is to help my students succeed by teaching them how to think critically, solve problems, and apply information so they excel in their chosen careers,” Herman said. “From my experience as a clinician and a researcher, I know that these are valuable tools and worth pursuing. The challenge comes in tailoring my approach to their specifications. Carefully, I construct a learning environment that is founded on respect and fairness so that the students will listen.”

Herman, will be named Presidential Professor of Teaching Excellence at the university commencement ceremony on Friday, May 13 at 2:00 p.m. in Reed Arena. Texas A&M University bestows two of these awards each year to two extraordinary teachers.

The award was established in 2003 by former Texas A&M President Robert M. Gates to underscore the importance of teaching at a major research university.


Contact Information: Megan Palsa,, 979-862-4216, 979-421-3121 (cell)

↑ Back to Top
« Back to Press Releases