Foundation Celebrates Record Turnout at Legacy Society Events

 Legacy Celebration A record turnout highlighted the 2017 Legacy Celebration that took place through the Texas A&M Foundation on Thursday, March 30, and Friday, March 31.

More than 600 people attended the dinner hosted at Hall of Champions inside Kyle Field.

As the Friday night keynote, Texas A&M Foundation president Tyson Voelkel highlighted the amazing generosity of Mr. John Hagler’s recent $20 million gift. This gift brought the Texas A&M Foundation more than halfway to its $4 billion goal, at $2.5 billion.

Several students also were highlighted at the event, including Aggie engineers, Aggie astrophysicists, and first-generation Aggies, who shared with donors their gratitude for scholarships and financial support.

On Friday, guests of the Legacy Society also took tours of various colleges on campus. This year’s featured colleges included the College of Veterinary Medicine & Biomedical Sciences (CVM), College of Education, School of Public Health, College of Engineering, and several others.

Lunch followed the tours at the Thomas G. Hildebrand, DVM ’59 Equine Complex, where President Michael K. Young addressed the group about the success of the campaign at its halfway point, the Aggie spirit, and mentality of “Leading by Example.”

The CVM provided the guests a tour—hosted by Chastity Carrigan, Bubba Woytek, and Eliana Mijangos—through the college’s high-impact clinical labs, where guests were treated to a hands-on display of the equipment, which was designed to meet students’ educational needs. Dr. Elizabeth Scallan, clinical assistant professor in the Department of Small Animal Clinical Sciences, led the discussions.

The Texas A&M Foundation is a nonprofit organization that exists for the benefit of Texas A&M University. As the primary academic fundraising institution for Texas A&M, the foundation inspires the philanthropy to support this unique American institution and share in its promising future. The CVM thoroughly enjoyed hosting the Legacy Society members!