VMBS Faculty, Staff, Students Recognized At Annual Ceremony

Dean August and Dr. Kate Aicher holding her award

The Texas A&M School of Veterinary Medicine & Biomedical Sciences (VMBS) recognized 72 students, faculty, and staff at the 2023 Honors & Awards Ceremony on April 6.

“It is always an honor to recognize our colleagues who are leaders in the veterinary profession, committed to educational excellence, and provide dynamic leadership,” said Dr. John R. August, the Carl B. King Dean of Veterinary Medicine at Texas A&M University. “Our recipients make the School of Veterinary Medicine & Biomedical Sciences a world-class institution, and we cannot thank them enough for their contributions to our school, our students, and our patients.”

View photos from the ceremony on the VMBS Flickr account.

2023 Honors & Awards Recipients:

  • American Academy of Veterinary Dermatology Student Award: Taylor Hood
  • American Animal Hospital Association Award for Proficiency in Primary Care: Jacqueline Babin
  • American Association of Feline Practitioners Award: Kathryn Biehl
  • American College of Veterinary Internal Medicine Award: Sam McClanahan, Prisha Shah, & Andrew Brown
  • American College of Veterinary Ophthalmology Award: Abby Hickox
  • American College of Veterinary Pathologist Award: Sarah Jacobson
  • American College of Veterinary Radiology Student Award: Lauren Bynum
  • American College of Veterinary Surgeons Student Proficiency Award: Parker Wurst & Kathryn Biehl
  • Arden Kemler Award: Alyssa LeComte
  • Award for Proficiency in Veterinary Emergency & Critical Care: Amanda Clapham
  • Bridges Teaching & Service Award: Lanette Jordan, Katie Maples, & Adam Patterson
  • Dechra Excellence in Dermatology Award: Brooke Joyner
  • Dechra Excellence in Equine Sports Medicine Award: Reilly Wren
  • Dechra Excellence in Small Animal Internal Medicine Award: Margaret Cook
  • Fred P. Jaggi Award: Ashley Cubb & Cassidy Gillum
  • George T. Edds Award: Aracely Perez Gomez & Alexandra Cordova
  • Gerald Bratton & Charles Hall Clinical Neurology Award: Bryan Rach
  • Griffeth-Quick Cardiology Award: Tabitha Baibos
  • John Milliff Veterinary Award for Teaching: Kati Glass
  • John Milliff Veterinary Student Award: Carly Martone
  • John Paul Delaplane Award: Jason Sousa
  • Juan Carlos Robles Emanuelli Teaching Award: Yatta Boakari & Dominique Wiener
  • Kaytee Avian & Special Species Excellence Award: Stephen Levert
  • L. P. Jones Pathology Resident Award: Clinson Lui
  • Merck Innovation Award: Sarah Jacobson
  • Merck Parasitology Award: Hannah Danks & Veronica Negron
  • Outstanding Graduate Student & Postdoc Mentor Award: Angela Arenas
  • Outstanding PhD Student Award: Rachel Busselman
  • Outstanding Postdoctoral Research Associate Award: Meichen Wang
  • Outstanding Research Leader Award: Joe Arosh
  • Outstanding Research Support Award: Eleni Vonda & Michelle Wiederhold
  • Outstanding Scientific Achievement Award: Scott Dindot & Jianrong Li
  • Outstanding Young Faculty Research Award: Lindsay Dawson
  • Patton W. Burns Award: Hannah Lam
  • Proficiency in Theriogenology Award: Ashley Rothrock
  • Richard H. Davis Teaching Award: Becky Eschmann & Guilherme Verocai
  • Schubot Avian Health Director’s Award: Dani Burlison, Melanie Florkowski, & Hannah Justen
  • Texas Veterinary Medical Association Research Award: Jonathan Lidbury
  • Texas Veterinary Medical Association Teaching Award: Courtney Baetge
  • Texas Veterinary Medical Foundation Diversity Award: Amiri Fowler
  • Texas Veterinary Medical Foundation Earl Waddell Award: Alexis Jennings & Lance Wheeler
  • Texas Veterinary Medical Foundation Johnson Memorial Award: Heath Manning, Alicia Nye, & Ronald Olsen
  • Texas Veterinary Medical Foundation Philanthropy Award: Hope Darnell & Grace Piper
  • Texas Veterinary Medical Foundation Student Research Scholar Award: Coleman Hartis & Cora Garcia
  • Veterinary Cancer Society Bob Rosenthal Student Award: Mason Hill
  • Veterinary Medical Teaching Hospital Clinical Service Award: Andra Voges, Genna Atiee, & Mark Johnson
  • VMBS Excellence in Diversity Award: Meriam Saleh
  • VMBS Veterinary Scholar Award: Morgan McCord
  • Wade Burton & Susan Hopper Veterinary Emergency Team Award: Amanda Leal
  • Walter Dub Ruoff Memorial Award: Tabitha Garcia
  • Winnie Carter Wildlife & Exotic Animal Award: Katlin Stone
  • Zoetis Award for Veterinary Research Excellence: Nicholas Jeffery
  • Zoetis Distinguished Veterinary Teaching Award: Kathleen Aicher


For more information about the Texas A&M School of Veterinary Medicine & Biomedical Sciences, please visit our website at vetmed.tamu.edu or join us on FacebookInstagram, and Twitter.

Contact Information: Jennifer Gauntt, Director of VMBS Communications, Texas A&M School of Veterinary Medicine & Biomedical Sciences, jgauntt@cvm.tamu.edu, 979-862-4216

Show Buttons
Hide Buttons