63 Receive Honors, Awards At CVMBS’ Annual Ceremony

Sixty-three students, faculty, and staff were recognized at the Texas A&M College of Veterinary Medicine & Biomedical Sciences’ (CVMBS) 2022 Honors & Awards Ceremony on March 25.

“We are honored to recognize individuals who continue to lead through their contributions to the veterinary profession, commitment to educational excellence, and dynamic leadership,” said Dr. John August, the Carl B. King Dean of Veterinary Medicine at Texas A&M University. “We applaud our recipients for their academic achievements and the impact that they are making.”

View photos from the ceremony on the CVMBS Flickr account.

2022 Honors & Awards Recipients:

  • American Academy of Veterinary Dermatology Student Award: Prudence Sun
  • American Animal Hospital Association Award for Proficiency in Primary Care: Ashley Dane-Gressman
  • American Association of Feline Practitioners Award: Allison Heflin
  • American College of Veterinary Internal Medicine Awards: Regan Lee, Lauren Minner, & Kaitlyn Upton
  • American College of Veterinary Ophthalmology Award: Michael Jimmerson
  • American College of Veterinary Pathologist Award for Excellence in Veterinary Pathology: Emily Hoskins
  • American College of Veterinary Radiology Student Award: Cambridge Coy
  • American College of Veterinary Surgeons Student Proficiency Award: Kaylee DeBusk & Kate Korchek
  • Arden G. Kemler Award: Benjamin Butler
  • Award for Proficiency in Veterinary Emergency & Critical Care: Kelsi Early
  • Bridges Teaching & Service Award: Dusty Nagy, Galen Pahl, & Ramesh Vemulapalli
  • CVMBS Excellence in Diversity Award: Katie McCool
  • CVMBS Veterinary Scholar Award: Daniella Burleson
  • Dechra Excellence in Dermatology Award: Cambridge Coy
  • Dechra Excellence in Equine Sports Medicine Award: Elizabeth Kearney
  • Dechra Excellence in Small Animal Internal Medicine Award: Cody Atkinson
  • Fred P. Jaggi Award: Shannon Wan
  • George T. Edds Award: Alina Roman-Hubers & Toriq Mustapha
  • Gerald Bratton & Charles Hall Clinical Neurology Award: Alex Vuong
  • Griffeth-Quick Cardiology Award: Nicole Meddaugh
  • John Milliff ‘28 Veterinary Award: Bridget Savitske
  • John Milliff ‘28 Veterinary Student Award: Mary-Birdsong Gabriel
  • John Paul Delaplane Award: Emily Bencosme-Cuevas
  • Juan Carlos Robles Emanuelli Teaching Award: Laura Bryan & Lucien Vallone
  • Kaytee Avian & Special Species Excellence Award: Amanda Day
  • L.P. Jones Pathology Resident Award: Sarai Milliron
  • Merck Innovation Award: McCalley Cunningham
  • Outstanding Graduate Student & Postdoc Mentor Award: Dana Gaddy
  • Outstanding PhD Student Award: Rebecca Legere
  • Outstanding Postdoctoral Research Associate Award: Caroline Sobotyk de Oliveira
  • Outstanding Research Leader Award: Paul Morley
  • Outstanding Research Support Award: Gus Wright
  • Outstanding Scientific Achievement Award: Heather Wilson-Robles & Kate Creevy
  • Outstanding Young Faculty Research Award: Jessica Galloway-Pena & Matthew Scott
  • Patton W. Burns Award: Jordan Jaafar
  • Proficiency in Theriogenology Award: Breanthony Baker
  • Richard H. Davis Teaching Award: Evelyn MacKay & Annie Newell-Fugate
  • Schubot Avian Health Director’s Award: Ty Tortella & Viridiana Martinez
  • Texas Veterinary Medical Association Research Award: Paul Morley
  • Texas Veterinary Medical Association Teaching Award: Benjamin Newcomer
  • Texas Veterinary Medical Foundation Earl Waddell Award: Andres Rivera Velez & Beth Lozano
  • Texas Veterinary Medical Foundation Johnson Memorial Award: Abbi Brock & Catrina Silveira
  • Texas Veterinary Medical Foundation Philanthropy Award: Michaela Baron & Patricia Randal
  • Texas Veterinary Medical Foundation Student Research Scholar Award: Andrew Brown & Morgan Gunn
  • Veterinary Cancer Society Bob Rosenthal Student Award: Allison Heflin
  • Veterinary Medical Teaching Hospital Clinical Service Award: Keith Chaffin, Mauricio Lepiz, & Guilherme Verocai
  • Wade Burton & Susan Hopper Veterinary Emergency Team Award: Sarah Manning
  • Walter “Dub” Ruoff Memorial Award: Carley Johnson
  • Winnie Carter Wildlife & Exotic Animal Award: Ashley Dane-Gressman
  • Zoetis Award for Veterinary Research Excellence: Kate Creevy
  • Zoetis Distinguished Veterinary Teaching Award: Carolyn Arnold


For more information about the Texas A&M School of Veterinary Medicine & Biomedical Sciences, please visit our website at vetmed.tamu.edu or join us on FacebookInstagram, and Twitter.

Contact Information: Jennifer Gauntt, Director of VMBS Communications, Texas A&M School of Veterinary Medicine & Biomedical Sciences, jgauntt@cvm.tamu.edu, 979-862-4216

Show Buttons
Hide Buttons