VMBS Faculty, Staff Members Recognized By TVMA Outgoing President

Story by Megan Bennett, VMBS Communications

Mandy Zachgo receiving her award on-stage with Dr. Jodi Long
Mandy Zachgo and Dr. Jodi Long

Two individuals from the Texas A&M School of Veterinary Medicine & Biomedical Sciences (VMBS) received 2024 President’s Awards from the Texas Veterinary Medical Association (TVMA) in recognition of their support for the outgoing president, Dr. Jodi Long.

Dr. Lori Teller, a VMBS clinical professor, and Mandy Zachgo, a veterinary technician IV, were chosen by Long for their contributions to her success as president and their many years of support to the TVMA and veterinary profession.

This year, Long chose to present the President’s Awards based on each individual’s commitment to one or more of the TVMA’s core values. Teller was recognized for demonstrating the TVMA value of integrity, and Zachgo was awarded for demonstrating the values of teamwork and trust.

“Dr. Lori Teller has been a tour de force in veterinary medicine for a long, long time, and I definitely would not be where I am and would not have been in a leadership role at TVMA without her help,” Long said. “Her service to veterinary medicine, as a whole, and to the TVMA, specifically, embodies the value of integrity.”

Dr. Lori Teller in a park
Dr. Lori Teller
Photo by Jason Nitsch ’14, School of Veterinary Medicine & Biomedical Sciences

Teller has previously served as TVMA president herself and also served as president of the American Veterinary Medical Association from August 2022-2023.

“We all know that veterinary medicine is such a rewarding profession, though not without its challenges,” Teller said. “Whether I am taking care of clients and patients, teaching students, working with mentees, or advocating on behalf of the profession, I try to make decisions that enhance our abilities to support animal health and ensure the sustainability of veterinary medicine for a long time to come. Working with my colleagues and friends in TVMA and AVMA is one way that I can do this, and I very much appreciate Dr. Long’s support and efforts leading TVMA through some challenging times.”

Zachgo serves as the representative for licensed veterinary technicians (LVTs) on the TVMA Board of Directors, representing LVTs across the entire state.

“Mandy received this award for teamwork and trust,” Long said. “She has been incredibly integral for helping build good, solid relationships with organizations allied with TVMA and helping TVMA get stronger moving forward.”

“Belonging to TVMA and advocating for my profession are important to me, so I am truly honored to receive this recognition from Dr. Long,” Zachgo said.

The awards were presented during the 2024 TVMA Annual Conference in March.

The other four recipients of the 2024 President’s Award were Dr. Bridget Heilsberg, a veterinarian at Crown 3 Equine Veterinary Services; Randal Howard, a veterinary student at Texas Tech University; Dr. Keven McShane ‘92, a veterinarian in Bee Cave, Texas; and Brett Wright, an area business manager at Zoetis, Inc.


For more information about the Texas A&M School of Veterinary Medicine & Biomedical Sciences, please visit our website at vetmed.tamu.edu or join us on FacebookInstagram, and Twitter.

Contact Information: Jennifer Gauntt, Director of VMBS Communications, Texas A&M School of Veterinary Medicine & Biomedical Sciences, jgauntt@cvm.tamu.edu, 979-862-4216

Show Buttons
Hide Buttons