Herman, Hinrichs Win University-Level AFS Awards For Teaching, Research

The Texas A&M Association of Former Students (AFS) honored two members of the Texas A&M College of Veterinary Medicine & Biomedical Sciences (CVM) faculty with University-Level Distinguished Achievement Awards, one of the highest honors presented by the AFS.

Dr. Cheryl Herman, clinical associate professor in the Department of Veterinary Integrative Biosciences (VIBS), and Dr. Katrin Hinrichs, professor in the Department of Veterinary Physiology and Pharmacology (VTPP) and Patsy Link Chair in Mare Reproductive Studies, were announced as this year’s honorees from the CVM.

Dr. Cheryl Herman

Dean Eleanor Green, Cheryl Herman, and VIBS department head Jane Welsh

Herman was awarded in the teaching category for her dedication to student success.

“She is an excellent teacher who sets high standards for her students and then works to help them meet these standards,” said Dr. Lynn Ruoff, clinical professor in VIBS. “She has won the respect of her students and her colleagues and is very deserving of this award.”

Herman joined the CVM faculty first in 2002 as a lecturer, then again in 2014 as a clinical associate professor. In this role, she coordinates professional and undergraduate gross anatomy courses and frequently serves as a faculty mentor and adviser for veterinary students.

She has also received the Merial Teaching Excellence Award and the TEVA Animal Health Teaching Excellence Award from Kansas State University in acknowledgement of her outstanding teaching skills.

Dr. Katrin Hinrichs

Dean Eleanor Green, Katrin Hinrichs, and VTPP department head Larry Suva

Hinrichs was awarded in the research category for her work with the reproductive physiology of horses.

“Dr. Hinrichs epitomizes the qualities for the AFS award by having developed a national and international reputation as one of the world’s leading experts in equine reproduction,” said Dr. Larry Suva, VTPP department head. “Dr. Hinrichs sustains a career as a productive researcher while simultaneously exemplifying excellence in the support and training of the next generation of clinician-scientists.”

Joining the CVM faculty in 1998, Hinrichs has since made great and unique contributions to the fields of equine cloning and in vitro fertilization. Her work led to the production of the first cloned horse in North America in 2005 and the creation of the CVM Equine Embryo Laboratory.

She has earned many awards for her research, including Theriogenologist of the Year from the American College of Theriogenologists and the 2016 Simmet Prize for Assisted Reproduction from the International Congress of Animal Reproduction.

Each honoree will receive a framed certificate from the AFS, along with a $4,000 monetary award in a ceremony scheduled for Monday, April 29, at 1:30 p.m. in Rudder Theater.

The awards, begun in 1955, recognize outstanding members of Texas A&M’s faculty and staff for their commitment, performance, and positive impact on Aggie students, Texas citizens, and the world around them.



For more information about the Texas A&M College of Veterinary Medicine & Biomedical Sciences, please visit our website at vetmed.tamu.edu or join us on Facebook, Instagram, and Twitter.

Contact Information: Megan Palsa, Executive Director of Communications, Media & Public Relations, Texas A&M College of Veterinary Medicine & Biomedical Science; mpalsa@cvm.tamu.edu; 979-862-4216; 979-421-3121 (cell)