Texas A&M Veterinary Medicine, Biomedical Sciences To Become School On Sept. 1

the VENI building

The College of Veterinary Medicine & Biomedical Sciences is joining six other Texas A&M University colleges that will be designated as schools beginning Sept. 1. 

The change to School of Veterinary Medicine & Biomedical Sciences (VMBS) reflects recommendations approved by President M. Katherine Banks in the Path Forward, Banks’ strategic plan that provides guidance for carrying out the university’s mission and vision.

In addition, the biomedical sciences undergraduate program, currently housed in VMBS, will be joining the newly formed College of Arts and Sciences, which is being formed by the merging of the colleges of Geosciences, Science, and Liberal Arts.

“As the School of Veterinary Medicine & Biomedical Sciences, we will continue to focus on fulfilling our responsibilities to the citizens of Texas in support of Texas A&M University’s land-grant mission,” said Dr. John R. August, the Carl B. King Dean of Veterinary Medicine at Texas A&M. “This includes building on our model of success with respect to educating veterinarians who will go on to fulfill a critical, nationwide need for veterinary practitioners; conducting groundbreaking, highly impactful research that benefits both animals and human beings; and serving Texans across the state through our patient care and outreach efforts.”

VMBS began initiating the process of transitioning to its new brand identities this summer in preparation for the Sept. 1 effective date, allowing students to be welcomed into their new academic home prior to the start of the fall semester. Students who graduate in August will do so under their current academic designations.

The Path Forward outlines how the merger allows the College of Arts and Sciences to better align with most of Texas A&M’s peer institutions—12 of 19 use this model. This larger college structure creates a stronger advocacy for liberal arts education at a STEM-focused university, according to the MGT report, which informed the Path Forward.

The realignment allows for four areas of focus: College of Arts and Sciences, College of Engineering, College Agriculture and Life Sciences, and Texas A&M Health.

Other current colleges that will be designated as schools to better reflect their unique, applied missions include the School of Architecture, School of Dentistry, School of Education & Human Development, School of Medicine, School of Nursing, and Irma Lerma Rangel School of Pharmacy.

Texas A&M’s other schools and departments include the newly formed School of Performance, Visualization & Fine Arts, as well as the existing Mays Business School, School of Engineering Medicine, Bush School of Government & Public Service, School of Law, and School of Public Health.

These organizational changes were approved by Banks in December, along with more than 40 other recommendations. Each initiative had its own working group—committees made up of faculty, staff and students—to determine how to best implement the changes.


For more information about the Texas A&M School of Veterinary Medicine & Biomedical Sciences, please visit our website at vetmed.tamu.edu or join us on FacebookInstagram, and Twitter.

Contact Information: Jennifer Gauntt, Director of VMBS Communications, Texas A&M School of Veterinary Medicine & Biomedical Sciences, jgauntt@cvm.tamu.edu, 979-862-4216

Show Buttons
Hide Buttons