Texas A&M Professor Honored with AAVMC Excellence in Research Award

Dr. James Womack
Dr. James Womack

COLLEGE STATION, Texas – The Texas A&M College of Veterinary Medicine & Biomedical Sciences (CVM) announced the recognition of Dr. James Womack, distinguished professor in the Department of Veterinary Pathobiology, with the American Association of Veterinary Medical Colleges’ (AAVMC) 2016 Excellence in Research Award.

This award recognizes Womack’s efforts in advancing the fundamental boundaries of knowledge in the veterinary profession and for facilitating the research careers of veterinarians. The Excellence in Research Award is one of the highest honors bestowed by the AAVMC and is given to the outstanding researcher of the year.

As a leader in genomic research, Womack has a tradition of excellence in research, having won the Bush Excellence Award for Faculty in International Research (2008) and the Wolf Prize in Agriculture (2001) among others. In addition, he earned recognition from the National Academy of Sciences in 1999, and was named a Fellow of the American Association for the Advancement of Science that same year.

Womack’s research in genomics and genome mapping has led to discoveries impacting cattle, chickens, horses, and humans. His comparative studies between animal genomes and the human genome are paving the way for an improved understanding of gene function and expression.

“Dr. James Womack has a distinguished history of research excellence, ” said Dr. Eleanor M. Green, the Carl B. King dean of veterinary medicine. “His past discoveries and future research endeavors are unlocking the mysteries of the genome in different species, which are leading to novel approaches in diagnosing and treating genetic disorders in animals and humans. Dr. Womack’s commitment to promoting research careers for veterinarians is a legacy that will define our profession and ensure it is prepared to meet the needs of both human and veterinary medicine in the future.”

Womack was selected to receive this honor by a committee of peer veterinarians within the AAVMC and will be presented with the award at the AAVMC Annual Conference held March 4-6, 2016 in Washington, D. C.

Show Buttons
Hide Buttons