External Faculty Awards

Received by VMBS faculty from organizations external to The Texas A&M University System

American Academy of Arts & Sciences

American Academy of Veterinary Pharmacology and Therapeutics

Distinguished Fellow

  • 2019 | Virginia Fajt

Given in recognition of significant contributions in teaching clinical pharmacology to veterinary students, graduate students, and veterinary professionals.

Teaching Award

  • 2011 | Virginia Fajt

Given in recognition of exceptional and sustained service to the AAVPT and the profession of veterinary pharmacology

Service Award

  • 2023 | Virginia Fajt

American Association for the Advancement of Science

American Association of Bovine Practitioners (AABP)

Execellence Award

Merck/AABP Mentor of the Year

American Association of Equine Practitioners

Distinguished Life Member Award

Foundation Past Presidents Research Fellow

  • 2016 | Canaan Whitfield

American Board of Veterinary Toxicology

ABVT Service Award

  • 2012 | Murl Bailey

American College of Veterinary Microbiologists

Distinguished Veterinary Microbiologist

American College of Veterinary Pathologist

Mentor of the Year Award

  • 2020 | Raquel Rech

Harold W. Casey Scholarship Award

  • 2020 | Candice Chu
  • 2019 | John Edwards

Young Investigator Award

  • 2019 | Lauren Stranahan

American College of Veterinary Surgeons

Al & Carolyn Schiller Distinguished Service Award

American Philosophical Society Member

  • 2017 | Leif Anderson

American Society of Animal Science

Morrison Award

American Society for Bone and Mineral Research

John Haddad Young Investigator Award

  • 2024 | Connor Dolan

American Veterinary Medical Association

The AVMA Award

XIIth International Veterinary Congress Prize

AVMF/Winn Feline Foundation Research Award

Bustad Award

Clinical Research Award

Career Achievement in Canine Research Award

Lifetime Excellence in Research Award

Association of American Veterinary Medical Colleges

Billy E. Hooper Award for Distinguished Service

Communications Excellence Award (Retired Award)

  • 2016 | Megan Palsa

Distinguished Veterinary Teacher Award

Excellence in Research Award

Iverson Bell Award

Senator John Melcher, DVM, Leadership in Public Policy Award

Public Policy Faculty Fellows Program

Recognition Lecture

Association for Veterinary Epidemiology and Preventive Medicine

Mark Gearhart Memorial Award

  • 2019 | Gizem levent

Auburn University College of Veterinary Medicine

Wilford S. Bailey Distinguished Alumni Award

British Small Animal Veterinary Association (BSAVA)

Bourgelat Award

  • 2024 | Nick Jeffery

Bay Area Lyme Foundation

Emerging Leader Award

  • 2020 | Artem Rogovsky

Board of Editors in the Life Sciences

Honored Editor in the Life Sciences

Cattle Feeders Hall of Fame

Industry Leadership Award

Clinical and Laboratory Standards Institute

Excellence in Standards Developemnt Award

  • 2022 | Virginia Fajt

Council of Science Editors

Deutsche Veterinarmedizinische Gesellschaft


  • 2022 | Jӧrg Steiner

Michael E. DeBakey Center for Comparative Medicine & Biomedical Devices

  • 2005 fellow | Cristine Heaps

National Academy of Science

National Academy of Inventors

  • 2018 senior member | Stephen Safe
  • 2017 fellow | Leif Anderson

National Cowgirl Hall of Fame

National Institutes of Health

Individual National Research Service Award

  • 2002 | Cristine Heaps

Oak Ridge Associated Universities (ORAU)

Ralph E. Powe Junior Faculty Enhancement Award

Perinatal Research Society

Early Career Award

  • 2010 | Michael Golding

Young Investigator Award

2008 | Michael Golding

R&D World 100 Award

  • 2019 | Fred Clubb

Research Corporation for Science Advancement

Scialog: Mitigating Zoonotic Threats Fellows

  • 2020 | Angela Arenas

SEC Academic Leadership Program Fellow

  • 2013 | Blanca Lupiani

Sigma Xi

The Scientific Research Honor Society

  • 2009 |Timothy Phillips

 John P. McGovern Science and Society Award

Society for Theriogenology

David E. Bartlett Lifetime Achievement Award

Southwest Veterinary Symposium

Visionary of the Year Award

  • 2021 | Dan Posey
  • 2019 | Lori Teller
  • 2013 | Allen Roussel

Texas Cowboy Hall of Fame

Texas Veterinary Medical Association

Career Lifetime Achievement Award

  • 2023 | Murl Bailey

Companion Animal Practitioner of the Year

  • 2022 | Efrain Zavala

Distinguished Career Achievement

  • 2023 | Murl Bailey
  • 2022 | Dan Posey
  • 2018 | Claudia Barton
  • 2012 | Thomas Hairgrove
  • 2011 | Leon Russell

Equine Practitioner of the Year

  • 2022 | Keith Chaffin
  • 2004 | Jeff Watkins

President’s Award

  • 2024 | Mandy Zachgo
  • 2024 | Lori Teller
  • 2006 | Dan Posey

Food Animal Practitioner of the Year

  • 2010 | Dan Posey

Veterinary Medical Specialty Award

  • 2018 | Heather Wilson-Robles
  • 2008 | Bert Dodd
  • 2003 | Duane Kraemer

Texas Veterinary Medical Foundation

Earl Waddell Award

  • 2015 | Katie Glass

Johnson Memorial

  • 2016 | Kati Glass
  • 2015 | Kati Glass

The Wolf Prize in Agriculture

Theriogenology Foundation

David E. Bartlett Lifetime Achievement Award

University of California–Davis School of Veterinary Medicine

Alumni Achievement Award

University of Guelph